Lumen Christi Award

Except for a very (thankfully) short period of confusion in my early twenties, I have not strayed from the Catholic Church.  While my religious observance is far from perfect, I hope that if it came to it, I would willingly die for my Catholic faith.

I am a Mass-attending-rosary-reciting-Divine-Mercy-litany-of-the-saints-praying-Liturgy-of-the-Hours-Eucharistic-Adoring-Extraordinary-Form-regularly-confessing-mantilla-wearing-N-F-P-genuflecting-kneeling-pro-life-God-bless-the-Pope-Magisterium-forever-until-the-hour-of-my-death-Catholic. (phew)

So the Lumen Christi Blog Award for excellence in Catholic blogging(!) given  by one of my favourite blogs, Biltrix, is extremely special to me.  Thanks, Biltrix.  For excellence in Catholic blogging, go see what the writers at Biltrix are up to.

Here are the rules for accepting this award:

  1. Name your favourite saint and why.
  2. Name your favourite part of the Mass and why.
  3. Name your favourite part of being Catholic and why.

Linking back to this blog is optional.

Pass it on!

  1. Favourite saint and why – Hmmm.  This is like staring at the dessert menu and not being able to decide what to order.  I can’t stop at one.  St. Monica because she was a fierce mom.  St. Gianna Beretta Molla because she was a doctor, a working mom and she made the ultimate sacrifice so that her unborn child would live.   St. Therese of Lisieux because she’s my patron saint and wise in her simplicity.  St. Teresa of Avila because she was one smart lady.  St. Camillus de Lellis because he’s the patron saint of nurses.  St. Joseph because he’s been protecting and providing for my family for the past 27 years.
  2. Favourite part of the Mass -“O Lord, I am not worthy that You should enter under my roof, but only say the word and my soul shall be healed.”  Do I need a reason?
  3. My favourite part of being a Catholic – I am a grateful member of a religion that is rich in history, tradition, knowledge, holy men and women, heroic saints, and the Real Presence of Jesus in the Eucharist.

I would like to pass the Lumen Christi Award to the following Catholic blogs:

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lumen Christi Award

  1. culinarycath says:

    “Favourite part of the Mass -”O Lord, I am not worthy that you should enter under my roof, but only say the word and my soul shall be healed.” This is one of my favorite parts too(aside from the Communion). It makes me feel humbled and loved by Him.

    Congratulations for achieving excellence in Catholic Blogging!

  2. Mr. V. says:

    Congratulations for the award! I must say I’m glad I came across your blog a few months ago. Since then, it’s become part of my daily reading. Thanks for all your inspirational, challenging, and interesting posts. Keep it up!

    That is a powerful prayer and part of the Mass. I don’t know that I necessarily have a favorite part of the Mass, as the whole thing is beautiful and powerful for me. I do look forward to the Nicene Creed, as it reminds me of all the important elements of belief as a Catholic.

    I agree with you about the Saints, in that choosing a favorite is like being at a grand buffet with every single one of your favorite selections in front of you and being asked to pick which one you like the best. There’s so many. All of the ones you mentioned are great choices. I would have many that spring to mind as well. Lately St. Perpetua has commanded my attention. Her faith and perseverance in the midst of her suffering and trials stands as an example to us all.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Mr. V. One of the wonderful results of blogging is meeting other Catholic bloggers, if only in cyberspace, such as yourself. I don’t know anything about St. Perpetua. I’ll have to do some research on her. I agree with you about the Nicene Creed and also that’s hard to pick one part of the Mass as a favourite.

  3. Biltrix says:

    Hmmm. This is like staring at the dessert menu and not being able to decide what to order.”

    That was Classic!

    Thanks for being an [all of the above] Catholic and for being an passing on the Light of Christ through your blog. God bless!

    • You’re welcome, Biltrix. In truth, my exuberant profession (above) of I Love Being Catholic is only possible by God’s grace (and by how excited I was when you nominated my blog). I’d like to think it was a rose from St. Therese since it happened on her feast day. God bless the writers at Biltrix.

  4. annedesa says:

    A well deserved award. Thanks for your like on my post, it brought me to yours :)
    Your posts are filled with grace. I loved reading whatever i did. God Bless.

  5. Pingback: Lumen Christi | The Back of the World

  6. Congratulations! Totally well deserved.

  7. Congratulations on this prestigious and well-earned reward! I do agree with you choice of saints and I’ve learned the name I did not know existed: St. Camillus de Lellis. Will read up on him.
    I too love the same part of the Mass that you do, it always makes me appreciate the fact that I know Jesus and that I am open to His Grace.
    The only another part of the Mass that would top the previous one is actually receiving Jesus on my knees. I’ve only been kneeling for the passed year, and it’s made such a difference in my demeanour when receiving Our Lord.

  8. Thanks 8Kids, for passing on the award! God bless!

Leave a Reply

