Small Success Thursdays – Random Edition

Small-Success-Thursday-250pxEvery Thursday at CatholicMom.com, we celebrate everyone’s  small (and not so small) successes. Come on over, add your link or add your own successes to the comments section.

List three things you are grateful for this week: victories over minutia, victories over the big stuff, blessings which you have received which reveal the breathing presence of God’s grace in your life. Then ask a friend to come and participate too.

It’s been 3 weeks since I’ve joined the small success link-up at CatholicMom.com. I’m so glad to be here today to connect with everyone and celebrate our small, and not so small successes.

Advent: I got the Advent wreath down from the attic, found the candles and prayers and now after our evening family Rosary, we pray the week’s Advent prayers. I’m grateful that year after year, we gather to pray in the evening. I’m grateful for the gift of Advent and for the reminder of the importance of the season symbolized by a simple wreath and four pretty candles.

How many veils does a woman need? This week, I’ve been enjoying the #veilproject link-up that Cristina and Tiffany have started. I added my link and am having fun following everyone on twitter. If you’ve been thinking about veiling, or if you wear a church veil/mantilla, or if you’re curious about why we veil, come and read everyone’s thoughts.

To answer my own question: I’ve just ordered a twilight blue infinity veil at Veils by Lily. It’s so beautiful, I can’t wait to wear it! This is my third veil. Is there such a thing as veil gluttony?

Deadlines: I finally finished (and only a little bit late) my latest magazine article for the Canadian Catholic publication where I write and blog: Catholic Insight Magazine. It’s an article that’s very near and dear to my heart since I wrote about people I see on a professional basis: the elderly who are struggling and how we can help them.

Advent silence: I have been scheduling in much needed quiet time in front of the Blessed Sacrament during my busy day. That’s a monumentous success! Thank you, Lord for inviting me.

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic woman, faith, prayer, working mom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Small Success Thursdays – Random Edition

  1. Me says:

    Ok, taking this as my HUGE hint to get into veiling. I wish I knew why I kept teetering back and forth on it.

  2. The Beauty of the Blessed Sacrament. For the Holy Spirit can give inklings if God so desires. I must make more time. Love your article. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Sherry says:

    I am trying to figure out how I can attend the Blessed Sacrament. It is something I pine for, and do not know how to manage into my day. So great success to spend time with the Lord, and thanks for being a part of Small Success Thursday!

  4. franciscanmom says:

    I’m going to need to check out that article you mentioned about caring for the elderly! When will it be published?
    Ah…Advent silence. Good call. That is something I definitely need to get more of.

  5. It will be published sometime in 2014 but I don’t know which month. Advent silence is wonderful :)

  6. Hmmm…veil gluttony…well, if there is, I am in trouble! :-D I think I have like four or five that I keep in my car, not to mention one that I gave away, one that I ended up using as a cover for a book stand back home, and another in storage somewhere. (And three of the ones in my car were custom made…and I have my thoughts on another personalized one at some point – whew!)

    Thanks for sharing the linkup! It is great that so many are getting the hang of it.

    For those in doubt, just go for it. You will only know if you like it – if you try it! :-)

    • Go for it is right! Isabella Rose, your love of veiling was one of the determining factors when I was deciding whether to veil. You wrote so beautifully about the EF Mass and veiling (not to mention pictures) that I had to try it. So thank you!

      • Thank you so much Terry! Wow, that is a very high compliment indeed! I am honored that something that I wrote helped in your decision. I am glad that you tried it and that it bore fruit! You are welcome, and thank you for listening to my sporadic/nomadic thoughts. :-)

  7. emsestuary says:

    So glad you joined the Veiling Project that we started.
    It’s such a blessing to be a part of it.
    Blessings,
    Em

  8. I completely forgot about the Advent wreath! I didn’t even get out the Advent calendar. I’ve been barely aware of Advent this year. How do you get so much done?

  9. Cristina says:

    I just checked out the veil you ordered! WOW! that blue is beautiful. I have black, purple and – - a RED one coming to wear for Christmas. Talk about letting people know I veil! Red!!! The red is from Silver Hill Treasures, another participant. She, too has beautiful veils. I can’t believe just how positive this is for all of us. Wait till I get to write more reflections…I am collecting every bit of what happens as I veil to share with all of you. Thank you for participating with Tiffany, Emily and I in what have become such a blessing to us.

    Here’s what’s coming…Look at the Fleur de lis in Red! Merry Christmas indeed.
    http://shop.silverhilltreasures.com/Authentic-French-Calais-Lace-Mantille-Veils-FRENCHCAL.htm

    Off to cook for the family!
    God bless you and your family.
    xx
    Cristina

    • I know, right?! I just checked out the red one you bought. It’s gorgeous and will complement your dark hair beautifully. It seems to me that women who are thinking about veiling need to see a positive, joyful, enthusiastic and downright feminine attitude from those of us who wear a veil/mantilla. And seeing what everyone else is wearing or is planning on buying is just so much fun!

Leave a Reply

