The Gift of Motherhood

The Catholic Register, Canada’s Catholic news source,  asked me to submit a short reflection for their Mother’s Day feature. Here is the text of my article:

 

Giuseppe-Magni-mother-with-children-paintingWhen I was twenty years old, I self-assuredly told all my friends that I was never going to get married and have children. My life would consist of an impressive career, a fabulous wardrobe, and the independence of a modern woman. And then I met the young man who would eventually become my husband and all of my future plans changed. Twenty-nine years ago on our wedding day, we stood before a church full of our family, friends, and Father John Weber and told God that we would lovingly accept the children He wished to give us. The Lord took our faithful promise and gifted us with eight children and two more babies in Heaven who continually pray for us. My children, six boys and two girls, most of whom are young adults, have enriched, challenged, and coloured my life with love, mercy, joy, gratitude, and more than a few sleepless nights and anxious moments.

The greatest happiness for me as a mom has been in learning to put others ahead of myself and trying to live a compassionate, purpose-driven, God-filled life. I continue to try and model those values for my children.

On Mother’s Day, I can expect the usual grocery store flowers, boxes of chocolate, and interesting, questionably cooked breakfast in bed. I look forward to all those things but the greatest gift for me is to see my children go out into the world with compassion, purpose, faith and the sense that the world does not revolve around them.

Every Mother’s Day, I look back at my twenty year old self and smile. What I thought I wanted all those years ago never did come true. I have managed to carve out a career but not at the expense of my children. The fabulous wardrobe never did materialize but that doesn’t matter. Instead of independence, I have a home full of life, and a loving family that cares about my happiness. With God’s grace, my goal is to get my children, my husband, and myself to Heaven. God took those young plans I made long ago and through His gift of my motherhood, He continues to turn them to good.

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic family, Catholic woman, children, Christian mom, faith, family, large family, large family blog, parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Gift of Motherhood

  1. altruistico says:

    So eloquently and honestly spoken. You must realize that “though you do not have fabulous wardrobes” you are much more clothed in love, faith and the blessings of a home. God has blessed you with 8 loving children, a husband and a message to the world. How much more eloquently could a woman be adorned?
    May the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob continue to bless you and yours. Now and forever.

  2. Imelda says:

    You are so blessed indeed. And how true, God’s plans are always better than our own. God bless you and your family.

  3. My son is home right now, so I have all of my children, children-in law, and grandchildren together. Nothing makes me happier than this. I see the investment of my love and time reflected in them. God is so good to me.

  4. Beautifully written sentiments, you are truly blessed! God is so good, may He continue to bless you and your family.
    You had me giggling at “questionably cooked breakfast in bed.”

  5. abcinsc says:

    And wait until the grandkids come. Just more joy! God bless.

  6. Benjamin Writes says:

    “The greatest happiness for me as a mom has been in learning to put others ahead of myself and trying to live a compassionate, purpose-driven, God-filled life.”
    I like the way you described it as “happiness.” I salute mothers!!!

  7. dgcree says:

    Perfect summation. God bless you all.

  8. Happy mother’s day .May God bless the Mothers every where.JMS

Leave a Reply

