March Break and the Self-Employed Mom

It’s Day 1 of March Break.  My 2 elementary school children and 2 high-school children are home for the week.  And so am I.

The best thing about owning my business is the flexibility.  Since I make my schedule, I can accommodate the needs of my family.   The downside is this:  if I don’t work, I don’t get paid.  I can’t have everything.   We’ll just have to be even more careful about the finances this week.

I am constantly making choices about scheduling – juggling professional responsibilities with family needs  and volunteer commitments – so that everything that needs to be done gets done, and at the end of the week, I still earn an income.  My daytimer is my lifeline.  Some weeks it gets challenging but it all seems to work out in the end. 

This week, I chose to spend March Break with my kids and kept my client appointments to one and a half days.   It’s the best compromise I can come up with and I’m happy with it.  So is my family.  So are my clients. 

Today, I’m taking my 2 youngest to the museum.  My high-school sons think they’re too cool for this outing.  They have other plans but that’s OK because it’s their March Break too.   For the rest of the week, we have plans for a movie, an artery-clogging burger dinner, a trip to the zoo, a bike ride and, of course, I’m going to work.

  Deo gratias!

This entry was posted in blog about large family, Christian mom, work-family balance, working mom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March Break and the Self-Employed Mom

  1. Love the post! I look forward to being a self-employed mama too! I hope you enjoy your kid’s break!

Leave a Reply

