Procrastination and the Mom-Entrepreneur

It’s tax time and I still haven’t gathered up all my receipts, statements, etc. for my accountant; I have a couple of bills to pay; there’s a pile of foot care instruments that need sterilizing; my 14-year old has asked me repeatedly this evening to sign some forms for school; I just finished documenting yesterday’s patient visits. 

I used to think that I was so good at being organized and keeping on top of everything.  That is, until I went into business for myself.  Now, little details that need to be taken care of at the end of a business day sometimes always seem to get the better of me.  I have all kinds of excuses for not getting things done.  Even this blog post is a form of procrastination.

Earlier this week, I made the resolution to have my tax stuff ready by today.  Ha!  Maybe tomorrow.  Maybe the next day.  Definitely by Saturday, I hope.

It’s now a couple of hours later and I’ve been busy doing other things…….I managed to sterilize my equipment which is good since there is one tool I’m going to need tomorrow.  And, I finally finished my documentation of yesterday’s visits.  Not good nursing practise, but, hey! at least it’s done. 

The forms for my 14-year old are staring at me from the kitchen.  I promise I will sign them before I go to bed, or maybe before he goes to school in the morning.  

I know I have to stop putting things off. One day, this bad habit is going to get me in trouble, either with my accountant, someone I owe money to, a client, the College of Nurses, or worst of all, my family. 

Baby steps. 

Deo Gratias!

This entry was posted in Christian mom, large family blog, nurse blog, work-family balance, working mom and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Procrastination and the Mom-Entrepreneur

  1. Rev. Daren Bryk says:

    Baby steps…good advice! I make a list which
    I constantly add to every day. My goal is to
    knock off 2 or 3 things every day…regardless of the energy I have or don’t…then, at the end of the day I have at least a sense of accomplishment! My high school english teacher once told me…life is just a bunch of deadlines! It seems he was so right!

  2. Thanks, Fr. D, for reminding me how good it feels to cross things off a to-do list….and for reminding me to be more diligent with my to-do lists. Your high school english teacher was a pretty sharp guy.

Leave a Reply

