God Come To My Assistance……

God come to my assistance

Lord make haste to help me

These words are prayed at the beginning of the Liturgy of the Hours.  Simple.  Direct.  Practical.  I love this prayer.

Courtesy of Our Lady’s Missionaries of the Eucharist

Devotionals have their place.  The Rosary is beautiful and necessary.

But sometimes, all we need is something easy to remember.  You know the times I mean – the moments in life when you feel overwhelmed, when you’re struggling with family, finances, illness, the list goes on and everyone’s list is different.

For the past four years, I have participated in a 200 km walking pilgrimage to a shrine dedicated to the Canadian Martyrs.  It takes seven days to get to our destination.  The days are long and hot, the roads go on for what seems like forever.  Some of us jokingly utter that short, little prayer but we aren’t joking, not really.  Walking that distance is hard work; we get exhausted, blisters form, ankles get twisted, people faint in the heat of the day.  We can’t make it without an abundance of grace and divine intervention. 

It’s like that in life, too.  There’s always going to be challenges.  The journey is long and the road can take some tricky twists and turns.  Suffering is part of life, whether we like it or not.  But in the midst of all our trials, there’s still joy and peace. There’s the sure knowledge that Jesus is beside us and at the same time is leading us to the Father and everything is going to work for good.

 Constant prayer assures us of God’s presence.  In the heat of the moment, when demands are pulling us in too many directions, when we can’t seem to catch our breath,  we don’t always have time to stop and recite a long one.  And frankly, I’m not good at memorizing and retrieving long prayers.

That’s why the opening lines recited when praying the Liturgy of the Hours are so appealing to me.  Short and sweet, but pretty much says it all. 

God come to my assistance

Lord make haste to help me

 

Deo Gratias

 

 

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic family, Catholic woman and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to God Come To My Assistance……

  1. SR says:

    I love this and what a wonderful reminder this is and will be to and for me. I look so forward to reading more of your blog. For now it is getting late but what a wonderful thought to go to bed with. Thanks so much for posting this. God Bless, SR

  2. Ophelia says:

    That’s my favourite part too! I love the fact we make the sign of the cross while saying it.

  3. danardoyle says:

    I think that I will take those two lines with me and use them throughout my day! I really admire you for that grueling pilgrimage you make. It sounds like a profound experience!

  4. I have always loved that prayer. While I do own a beviary, I hardly ever get the chance to use it at this point. In college, I said it almost every day, and that opening prayer was always my favorite part. So simple but so powerful, reminding us that all we really need to do is ask God and He will help us.

  5. Well, you are kinda busy, what with 5 young kids and homeschooling:) I know what you mean. When I worked in hospital, I had to get up at 5a.m. for the day shift which started at 7a.m. I would eat breakfast and pray my Breviary at the same time. Perhaps not the best arrangement, but it was the best I could do at the time. Now that my hours are more human and my kids more self-sufficient, it’s usually easy to pray the Breviary daily. Hang in there, one day you’ll have a little more time for yourself. In the meantime, you’re right, those 2 simple lines is a great reminder of all we really need.

  6. Nancy H C Ward says:

    Enjoy your post and relate to saying that prayer often.

Leave a Reply

