“You Like Me”

When I started this blog, I really didn’t think anyone would read it except my immediate family.  Only out of pity.  Or under threat of no dinner or clean laundry.  Now, here I am almost 3 months later and I’ve been given 2 blogger awards:

Beautiful Bloggers Award from  Lame Housewife

Versatile Blogger Award from  To Have Her Heart

I’ve never done this before, but after reading the post by To Have Her Heart , I think I know what to do.  First thank the nominators, pick up the award and display it on my Home page, say 7 random things about myself, nominate 15 other blogs.  Am I right?  Since there’s 2 awards, is it OK if I use the same list for both?

First, I would like to thank Lame Housewife.  Her site is beautiful and she’s beautiful…just check out her “About the Lame Housewife” page.  I love her poetry and the variety in her posts.  LH, did you sketch the picture on your header?

Second, thank you to SR over at To Have Her Heart.  She sees God in the everyday events of life, whether it’s bathing her 5(!!!) dogs or watching birds in the birdbath.

Thank you, thank you, thank you, my blogging friends and sisters in Christ!

7 random things about me:

  1. I believe in………..The Catholic Church and the Apostles’ Creed
  2. I believe that dark chocolate is its own food group and is the elixir of life
  3. one of my favourite activities is teaching Gr. 2 First Communion Cathechism classes to the kids in my parish who don’t attend Catholic schools
  4. for exercise and relaxation, I like to walk.  10 km is a good distance.
  5. I do yoga regularly for my bad back..occupational hazard for a nurse
  6. I love to cook and bake, with and for my family
  7. I enjoy biking with my family….helmets on, of course 🙂

Here are my nominees for both awards (in no particular order):

  1. Catholic working Mom – I can totally relate.  Dana knows that she can balance it all only with Divine Intervention.  Amen to that!
  2. Biltrix – I know you just won the Versatile Bloggers Award too but I can’t have a list without you.  We need you.
  3. Desperion’s Blog – short but insightful daily meditations based on Scripture.
  4. Our Baker’s Dozen – because she has 5 more children than I do.  Do these awards come in platinum??
  5. Talinorfali – a fellow Canuck who blogs from Montreal.  Every post is different.
  6. Life at Le. Rheims – Bridget’s a homeschooling mom of 5.  She’s got a quirky sense of humour and always makes me LOL!
  7. Authentic Catholicism – the name says it all.
  8. Public Catholic – I admire Rebecca Hamilton immensely.  She blogs about living an authentic Christian life as a member of the Oklahoma House of Representatives.
  9. Believe Anyway – inspiring and uplifting posts.
  10. The Chavagne Experience – an American family living an adventure as teachers at an English Catholic boarding school in France.  Wonderful photos!  I want to come for a holiday 🙂
  11. The 1 Saved By Grace – another beautiful lady in love with the Lord
  12. Peg Pondering Again – read Peg’s “About” page and you’ll know why I picked her
  13. jessbrianne & a peek into my life – the world is full of possibilities for this active, involved fashionista 20-year old
  14. domestic diva, MD – although we’ve just met, I’m impressed that this newly minted anesthesiology resident still finds time to cook, write and share recipes.
  15. Inspired Angela – using the media to evangelize the world.  Beautiful posts.

There are more bloggers who have given support and inspiration to this newborn blogger and I thank you.  I told my husband that blogging makes the world a smaller, friendlier place.

The title for this post is not original.  I borrowed it from Sally Field’s acceptance speech when she won the Oscar for Places In The Heart.  If you’re of a certain age, do you remember this:

I’ve always wanted to say that 🙂

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in big family, Catholic, Christian, Christianity, family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “You Like Me”

  1. Pingback: Another Author and Awards! | Authentic Catholicism

  2. SR says:

    What is there not to like??? It was my honor. God Bless, SR

  3. Biltrix says:

    Thanks a lot! If I had not already written my post for the the versatile blogger award, I would have combined the two like you did. Great video, by the way!

  4. lamehousewife says:

    Woohoo! And yes, that was my own sketch. Thank goodness for “cropping”! 🙂 God bless:)

  5. Congrats! You do have a lovely blog! And anytime you do happen to be in France we would love to see you and show you the school! 🙂

Leave a Reply

