The Quiet Sunday Afternoon That Wasn’t

On Saturday evening, I finally succumbed to the gastrointestinal virus that had plagued 3 of my kids, one at a time, over the last week and a half.  I began to feel nausea and fatigue the likes of which I hadn’t felt since my last pregnancy.  By Sunday after Mass, I felt a little better but, still tired, I decided to take a nap.

Dragging myself upstairs after a soothing cup of tea, I nestled under the sheets, anticipating the restorative effects of an afternoon siesta.

I chose to nap during the World Cup final soccer game between Italy and Spain.  No sooner had I began to nod off than the armchair sportscasters’ voices drifted none too quietly up 2 flights of stairs and into my bedroom.  Ugh. I closed my eyes,  inserted ear plugs, and hoped for the best.

#8 decided that watching the game with a house full of males was not her idea of fun so she sought solace at the piano.  A self-proclaimed songwriter/singer, she started banging out an original composition, lost in her musical world. It was loud.  Definitely loud.  This prompted #7 to do what he does best…..bug her until she screams.  And it worked like a charm.

By this time, my earplugs were useless and so was the pillow I placed over my head.  Maybe I should have told them I was trying to take a nap.  It might have made a difference.

The knock on the door was the final straw.  “Mom,” whined #7, bored with his screaming sister, “can I phone my friend?”

Seriously?  You need my permission for this?  Right now?

Admitting defeat, I reluctantly rolled out of bed and trudged back down the stairs.   I looked around at my lively, exuberant family.  My husband gave me a hug and a kiss as he reminded me, “but this is Sunday afternoon.”

As tired as I was, I couldn’t get upset at the lack of quiet.  Not this time, anyway.  This is my life and I’m grateful for it.

Thank You God for my lively, loud, healthy, happy family.  And thank You for really good under-eye concealer to cover up the dark circles under my eyes. 😉

One day in the not too distant future, it will be too quiet around here on a Sunday afternoon and I can take all the naps I want.

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in big family, Catholic, Catholic family, children, Christian mom, faith, family, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Quiet Sunday Afternoon That Wasn’t

  1. Biltrix says:

    I got a good chuckle out of this one. Thanks!

  2. nateaddington says:

    With my first one on the way, you have me a bit worried…..

  3. You must have a lot of patience! You must be good mom.

  4. Mr. V. says:

    You know, I remember when I was a teenager, it was really cool the occasional nights when my parents were gone, and I had the house to myself. Do whatever I want, eat when I wanted, no being told what to do, etc. Now, I’m 45, and it is nice having the occasional night when my son is gone on a sleepover and my wife and I can enjoy some peace and quiet. Full circle, I guess. 😀

  5. Catholic Mom says:

    It’s so hard when you aren’t feeling well and can’t get the rest you need. You seemed to handle it excellently. Hope you’re feeling better!

  6. Pingback: Sunday Snippets – A Catholic Carnival | 8 Kids And A Business

  7. what a way to enjoy a Sunday,you are really enjoying !

  8. Joann says:

    Unfortunately. sleep isn’t one of the things that’s overrated. Noisy love is good, too.

Leave a Reply

