Summertime And The Livin’ Is Easy

Summer in Canada is way too short and shouldn’t be taken for granted.  Even the most hot, humid, mind-melting days are better than a blizzard in the middle of February or a cold spell that freezes your nose hairs.

In recent years, we haven’t been able to enjoy summer activities all together.  Two of our children have graduated from university and are working full-time.  One lives in another province and is writing for a newspaper.  Some  of the kids are working at summer jobs.  Now when we go camping we take two less tents.  The older kids have great memories of biking, road trips, campfires and picnics by this creek.  The younger three are still making summertime memories.

I only work three days a week during the summer, squeezing all my patient visits into a limited space of time so I can be home with the young’uns.   On the week days when I’m off, we do day trips.  If it’s raining, we do indoor things like museums and movies.  Some days,  my beloved can join in the fun or at least meet us for lunch.

When I’m not working, I’m with my family.  When I’m not with my family, I’m working.  The casualty in this arrangement is my house.  My messy, dusty, cluttered house complete with a Mt. Everest laundry pile.

I could obsess.  I could cry.  I could tear out my freshly coloured hair.  But what would be the point?

Send in the kids.  Put up a chores list.  Make sure everyone is on the same page.   The house will never look like a magazine cover but at least it’s livable.

It’s taken years of blood, sweat and tears (figuratively) but we’ve gotten to the point where everyone knows that there’s no escaping the chores list and the sooner we cooperate, the sooner we can get on with life.  If a sibling isn’t home to do  his/her chore on a given day, the others work it out among themselves.

As for me, I’ve had to learn to live with “good enough.”  There may still be crumbs on the kitchen floor.  The furniture may be seldom dusted.  There’s a pile of library books on the coffee table and Lego pieces scattered on the TV room floor.  The Mt. Everest laundry pile keeps reappearing.  Whatever.

We’re on our third bottle of sunscreen and we spent the day catching minnows and bugs in the creek.  We’re all filthy and my kids are counting down the days ’til our next day trip.

Ah, summer.  Enjoy it.  We’ve got all winter to do the laundry.

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in blog about large family, Catholic, children, Christian mom, family, parenting, Uncategorized, working mom and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Summertime And The Livin’ Is Easy

  1. I love this, particularly the last line! You’ve made me want summer (and usually I’m a winter person!)

  2. abcinsc says:

    Enjoy your kids… continue to build your all family memories… your youngest will be asking for the keys to the car before you know it. Then you’ll be able to look back together and say, “Do you remember when….” and all have a good laugh together.

  3. SUMMER IN UKRAINE IS EQUIVALENT TO THE FIRE IN HELL .IT IS A TIME ,I FAST AND PRAY FOR THE DAYS TO BE MOVING FASTER,IF NOT ONE COULD DIE BECAUSE OF THE SUN HERE .

  4. Daniel Undem says:

    It is good to know that I am not the only one with a Mt Everest sized laundry pile in my house. Like your family, my family would much rather share an experience filled life rather than have a house that is perfection. As the saying in my Mom’s house used to say. “A home should be clean enough to be healthy and dirty enough to be happy.”

  5. Thought you’d appreciate this about the old mass http://i.imgur.com/Plvby.png

  6. I once heard (on EWTN) that families with a lot of children, who have perfect houses, have everything backwards. They are too busy being with the house than their kids!

    Sounds like you have it right!

  7. lilyboat says:

    Yes, summer won’t last forever! might as well enjoy while we have it. my first English teacher was from Canada, so it is a very special place for me. 😉

Leave a Reply

