You Are My Sunshine Award

When I sit down to read blogs, I always look forward to what Rebecca Hamilton has to say at Public CatholicRebecca is an elected Representative of the Oklahoma House of Representatives.  Yup, she’s a politician, and a senior one at that.  Why is a Canadian girl reading an American politician’s blog?  Because even though the subject is usually American in nature, the principle behind what she says is universal – being a Catholic in a secular world, or for non-Catholics, being a Christian in a secular world.  How can I not read her blog?

So, when I scrolled down Blogs I Follow as usual to find her latest post, my jaw dropped and maybe a piece of my breakfast toast fell out of my mouth when I saw lil’ old me mentioned.  It seems that Rebecca has created a Blog Award, the You Are My Sunshine Award, and decided to make me the first recipient because of my post Euthanasia:  It’s Not Enough To Say No.  Her reason for creating the award is “for all those generous souls who have helped me launch Public Catholic.”  Well, thank you and you’re welcome, although I didn’t realize that I did that.  I think your blog speaks for itself and if people are reading it, it’s because they think so too.

Rebecca told me that it’s my choice whether to pass on the award or not.  I had to think long and hard about who I would give it to in keeping with the spirit it was passed on to me.  I could have picked many wonderful bloggers and I know that one day the same award will land on their site.

I’m very excited to pass the award on to Catholic Nomad Girl and her incredible blog, The Catholic Nomad:  Reclaiming the Sacred.  I love all her posts but the one I’m picking is Walking Away And Loving It:  The Journey Begins.

I would never do what she’s doing which is living like a nomad in search of churches where tradition and sacred symbols and art are preserved.  I’m not built that way, but I appreciate her creativity and passion.  Opposites attract, right?

You Are My Sunshine Award

So here you go, CNG.  This is for you.  One day, I hope you write a book about your adventures and I hope it turns into a best seller.  Then I’ll make that semi-nomadic journey to your nearest book-signing and give you a hug in person.

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic woman, Christian, faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You Are My Sunshine Award

  1. Wow! I am just sitting here staring at the keyboard and trying to figure out what to say, because I am so stunned.

    Seriously, still sitting here….

    …yep, haven’t gone anywhere….

    …ate my whole dinner and can’t get a word out…

    That is how stunned I am.

    Wow!

    That is a huge honor. I want to give it back to you because you always bring a little sunshine into my life right when I need it (but I know blogger awards do not work that way.)

    I will copy you and think of someone else to pass it on to as well.

    Thank you again!

  2. Yeah, I know how you feel. I was stunned myself. You’re very welcome. I meant every word.

  3. Congrats on the award! Rebecca’s blog is wonderful. and I can’t wait to check out the your blog and blog that you gave the award to 🙂

    http://stepstochangetheworld.wordpress.com/

  4. vftmom247 says:

    Congratulations on the award to both of you! Heading over to check out The Catholic Nomad now.

Leave a Reply

