……that we may gain wisdom of heart.

Make us know the shortness of our life

that we may gain wisdom of heart. (Psalm 90)

It’s Monday, Week IV in the Liturgy of the Hours so this morning, we pray Psalm 90.  This psalm reminds us that our time isn’t God’s time.  Our time on earth is finite; God’s is infinite.  The whole of human existence is in His hands.  The punishment for sin is death and the worst sins are pride and disobedience.

A few years ago, when I started praying the Liturgy of the Hours, I thought this was such a depressing Psalm.   First we toil, then we die.  But after doing some background reading on the meaning of this psalm, primarily in The School of Prayer:  An Introduction to The Divine Office for all Christians, by John Brook, I’ve come to see Psalm 90 as hopeful and look forward to reading it every 4 weeks.

The last few stanzas acknowledge that life is short but living in God’s truth gives us true wisdom which comes from God.  The psalmist ends by praying for God’s glory, and asking God to bless the work of our hands.

Life is short………….every time we pick up a newspaper or turn on the news, we know this to be true.  When I worked in med-surg, palliative care and rehab, this truth was brought home more times than I care to remember.  And, yeah, stuff happens.  Sometimes, really bad, unexplainable stuff.  It can be enough to make a person despair.

But this is the part I find hopeful:  that in my life, by God’s grace, life’s afflictions and struggles, which God allows, are balanced by His glory and mercy.  God promised that and God can’t go back on His promise because He. Is. Love.  Isn’t that why He sent His Son?

Some of us believe our days our numbered from the moment we are conceived.  Maybe.  I don’t know.  But what is indisputable is that “no one gets out of this world alive.”  So what are we going to do with the days we have, numbered or not?

Maybe, instead of asking ourselves why bad things happen, we should be asking ourselves this:  If I died tomorrow, what good will I have left behind?  Will my life have been hopeful or will I have allowed myself to wallow in fear, self-pity, anger, recrimination, blame?  Will I have put my hand to the plow and put my face toward God or will I have been unable to let go of the past and keep looking back?  Will I have lived to praise God’s glory?  Will I have been a light shining in the darkness or will I have kept my light hidden under a basket?

The only person who can answer these questions is me. Is you.  So, by God’s grace, what are you going to do with the rest of your life?

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, Christian, faith, prayer, wellness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ……that we may gain wisdom of heart.

  1. The Harvest is great but the laborers are few. Let’s hope that we can say we put our hand to the plow at least a little bit in this life.

  2. Daniel Undem says:

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ll be looking into getting a copy of Brook’s book. God Bless.

  3. Mr. V. says:

    Thanks for posting this. Like Daniel Undem wrote above, I’ll have to get a copy to read as well.

  4. I’ve been looking to do the Liturgy of the Hours but when I flip through the one my mom has it’s so overwhelming and confusing! Would that book, you recommend, teach you how to do the Liturgy of the Hours properly?

    • No. The book I mentioned explains all the psalms and readings so you can understand what they mean.. You can purchase an annual guide to praying the Divine Office. There’s a version for the 4 volume breviary or the condensed Book of Christian Prayer. The book of Christian Prayer has all the same prayers as the 4 volume set, but doesn’t carry the extra readings that priests have to do and lay people don’t. Just ask at your religious book store. They’ll let you know which guide to buy depending on if you want to pray from the 4 volume set or the Book of Christian Prayer.

  5. rometome says:

    This is what I love about the Office. Every day something new is learned, appreciated and passed on. Many thanks!

  6. I HEARD YOU LOUD AND CLEAR

  7. Disciple says:

    A friend introduced me to Brook’s little book when I was still on the way into the Church. It’s been a treasured companion ever since. An excellent help for prayer and meditation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

