Becoming Like A Little Child

#8 has a science project on Matter and Energy.  This past week, she gathered information on her topic.  Since I wanted her to use other sources besides the internet, we walked to the library on Saturday afternoon.

On the walk home, she decided to see what it would be like to be blind.  She closed her eyes, linked her arm through mine and asked me to guide her on the almost 2 km. walk home.

The mind plays all kinds of tricks when we shut off the sense of sight.  #8 felt she was walking in circles and even found her balance a bit off, but she was determined to continue her experiment.  Over one section of sidewalk, two men were trimming some badly overgrown hedges.  There were branches, debris and hedge clippings strewn over a distance of about half a block.  I thought #8 would open her eyes at this point, but she didn’t.  She walked in front of me and with my hands on her shoulders and my voice guiding her steps, she made it past that stretch of sidewalk.  As we continued on and she became a little disoriented, she leaned closer into me and persevered.  When we finally arrived home, she tentatively climbed the first two steps to our front door but then ran up the remaining three steps, felt for the door handle and opened the door triumphantly.

To #8, it was all a game, a bit of fun on a warm September Saturday.  What she didn’t realize is that in her little game,  she was teaching me a valuable lesson.

Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  (Matthew 8:3)

#8 showed me what it means to allow myself to be led.  She demonstrated how to listen to the voice that guides, to persevere in uncertainty,  and to be ever more trusting, especially when the path is covered with debris and the way uncertain.   She willingly abandoned herself into my care, confident that in my love for her, I would do what was best.  These are lessons I need to apply to my life.

It takes the heart of a child – pure, faithful, trusting, loving – to be able to put our faith in our loving Father who will see us safely home.

Lord, give me that heart.

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic family, children, Christian, Christian mom, faith, family, large family, parenting, prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Becoming Like A Little Child

  1. jmczaidman says:

    What a beautiful message, it’s funny what children can teach us with their simplicity.

  2. Biltrix says:

    Lovely! Just lovely!!!

  3. The way I feel about rest, trust and letting go of control is the way St. Augustine felt about chastity: not yet.

  4. SR says:

    This is one of your “best” family post! Well with the exception of the “garage day.” That one I have in my favorites and show anyone who will look:>) Isn’t it funny how we as adults always think we are doing the “leading” in our wisdom and life experiences. When all the while the simplicity and trust of a child can make us grow in leaps and bounds! Loved it!! God Bless, SR

  5. Thanks so much, SR, and I’m so glad you like the one about cleaning out the garage 🙂 You’re so right about how much a child can teach us………………”and a little child shall lead them”

  6. reinkat says:

    This is a really beautiful analogy. It really spoke to my heart.

  7. donchute says:

    Wonderful lesson, and time with a child is like time spent no other way!

    PLU from SSF

  8. A beautiful lesson, indeed. Thank you for that.

  9. Ophelia says:

    Beautiful!

  10. properlyscared says:

    What a lovely reflection–and one we need to be reminded of often. Thank you for your visit, too.

  11. Nancy Shuman says:

    This is wonderful. And I had to smile reading theraineyview’s comment: yes, I want to let go…. But not yet! (I loved your response to that also!)

Leave a Reply

