“Do This By Your Merits, O My Jesus”

In his efforts to direct me through the Year of Faith, Wise Friend handed me a small book and said, “Pray this and propagate it on your blog.”  The  book is called Visits To The Blessed Sacrament And The Blessed Virgin Mary, by St. Alphonsus Ligouri. (Tan Books)  It consists of a series of daily prayers said before the Blessed Sacrament over a period of 31 visits.

Originally, my intention was to finish the book first and then write about it, but I had one of those forehead-slapping, why-didn’t-I-see-that-before eureka moments that makes me wonder, “did everyone else know this before I did?” The truth is, in my hardened and distracted heart, I wasn’t ready for this grace until now.  I still plan on writing about the book and my 31 visits, but I would like to share a grace granted through the visits already undertaken.

While at the Eucharistic Adoration Chapel, I was reading and meditating over a passage in the prayer for the fourteenth visit.  The section that spoke to my heart was:

“O omnipotent God, show Your power to the world by making one who has been as ungrateful as I to be one of Your greatest lovers.  Do this by Your merits, O my Jesus.”

The words, “Do this by Your merits, O my Jesus,” impressed me the most.  As I pondered over these words, Jesus spoke to my heart.  I hurriedly scribbled down what the Lord placed in my heart that day.  Here it is in its unedited entirety:

Jesus shows Himself humble and vulnerable in the Eucharistic Host so that we can come to Him if we choose, by our free will.  He will not impose Himself, but will make Himself always available to us.  If we want to love Him fully, with all our heart, openly, honestly, without reserve, all we need to do is get on our knees, and in front of the Blessed Sacrament, we ask Him to grant us the grace to love Him more and more.  

After reluctantly leaving the chapel,  this beautiful hymn kept repeating in my mind as I drove away.  For the first time, I completely understood the lyrics.

Photo courtesy of Fr. Hansoo Park, Director of Vocations, Archdiocese of Toronto.

Jesus my Lord, my God, my all

How can I love thee as I ought?

And how revere this wondrous gift

So far surpassing hope or thought?

Sweet Sacrament, we Thee adore

O make us love Thee more and more.

O make us love Thee more and more.

Had I but Mary’s sinless heart

To love Thee with, my dearest King.

O with what bursts of fervent praise

Thy goodness, Jesus, would I sing.

Sweet Sacrament, we Thee adore

O make us love Thee more and more.

O make us love Thee more and more.

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Blessed Mother, Catholic, Christian, faith, prayer, Virgin Mary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Do This By Your Merits, O My Jesus”

  1. Jesus dear master of the flock,
    We crowd in love about thy feet,
    Our voices yearn to face you Lord,
    And joyfully thy presence greet.
    Sweet sacrament, we thee adore.
    Oh! Make us love thee more and more.
    Oh make us love thee more and more.

    Terry,

    You know, the other day I was speaking to my sister about all the injustices in the world and she said, “I don’t think I’m strong enough for the battle.”
    “Well,” I reminded her, “we know what God’s strategy was to deliver the world from evil — He decided to become a baby!”

    We who are drenched in sin imagine that we have to shield our vulnerabilities in order to be strong. God knows what we could never imagine: vulnerability IS strength.

    Oh make us love thee more and more!

    Paul

  2. Daniel Undem says:

    Great post and insight. Looking forward to more posts on this topic.

  3. SR says:

    Excellent post and am looking forward to reading about your 31 visits. “Ask Him to grant us the grace to love Him more and more.” What a beautiful thought and prayer to have in our spiritual lives. Why would we not desire to love our Lord more daily? Moment by moment.

    Jesus does give Himself “humbly” to us. He desires to be with us so much. I think we need to think about this always.

    I love the hymn and thanks for sharing it all. God Bless, SR

  4. Biltrix says:

    That is one of my favorite hymns. I always get a little anxious when it looks like they might end the hymn before the second verse, because I always want to get that part in. Beautiful post! Thanks for the tip on the book. God bless!

  5. reinkat says:

    Beautiful post. I love that hymn, too. I read this before heading to work and you had me singing to myself in the car. I haven’t heard it or thought of it for such a long time. I will look for that book, too–it sounds wonderful. I hope you continue to share your insights as you go through the 31 meditations.

  6. Will be getting the little book! Such an important part of prayer and worship…adoration of the Blessed Sacrament. Thanks for sharing. In this Year of Faith we are being encouraged to attend Eucharistic adoration more often. Well timed 8KAAB.

  7. lilyboat says:

    beautiful words and beautiful reminder. I wish our church does the blessed sacraments everyday but it’s only on thursdays. It’s that one day of the week I always look forward to. I feel Jesus’ presence so strongly in there and it’s so purifying!

  8. Mr. V. says:

    Nice post. As the others mentioned, I look forward to reading more of your 31 visits.

  9. Good post and and one of my favorite hymns.

  10. Wow. That’s moving. It’s exactly what I needed to hear. Thank you.

  11. Ryan says:

    St. Alphonsus is one of my heroes, and his Visits are a treasure of the Church!

  12. hrynchyshyn says:

    Beautiful post. Looking forward to reading about all 31 visits!

  13. Pingback: Visits To The Blessed Sacrament | 8 Kids And A Business

Leave a Reply

