Onward Christian Bloggers

I selected this post to be featured on my blog’s page at Catholic Blogs.

There are literally millions of blogs floating around in cyberspace, all competing for followers, likes, maybe even ad space.  Why do we blog?  Why do I blog?  Why do we bother?

I started blogging on New Year’s Eve, 2011, but not at 8kidsandabusiness.  I set up a business website on the advice of my business mentor as well as a friend who owns an advertising agency.  They said that I needed an on-line presence to grow my business so I took their advice.  That move has proven to be providential and I thank them for their expertise.  What I realized shortly after setting up that initial site was that there were posts I wanted to write that did not fit in with the site’s professional theme.  After talking it over with my family, I launched 8kidsandabusiness.

As happens in life,  the best laid plans often take an unexpected detour.  My original plan to write a working mom blog became more and more Christian and Catholic, the essence of who I really am.  The Holy Spirit had other ideas, and as John Lennon sang, “life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.”  My biggest supporters are the people in my life who I lean on the most:  my husband, my kids, my friends and my spiritual director.  They’ve got my back, and let’s face it, they’re terrific blog material.

Blogging while working inside and outside the home can be tricky, especially when a blogger gets into one of those I-have-to-write-this-now moods.  I think that over time, a regular blogger develops a system that usually works and it certainly helps if those around you are supportive.  This blog post, as with all my blog posts, was first scribbled down in a notebook to be typed later.  As I scribble, I’m baking cookies, warning my kids and husband that they better not eat them all if they value their lives, and keeping an eye on the clock since I still have to get ready for Sunday Mass.  This controlled mayhem works for me.  For other bloggers, my system might be too frenetic; every blogger’s different.  Just don’t let blogging take over your life because there’s still dishes in the sink, a family to raise, a spouse to love, a paycheque to bring home, an education to obtain and friendships to cultivate.  Find the balance.

Receiving blog awards still surprises me – and that’s a good thing.  When I spoke to my spiritual director about the discomfort I felt at receiving and displaying blog awards, he, as usual, put things in perspective.  He reminded me that humility is acknowledging that talents and abilities come from God and we are to use them for the benefit of our neighbours.  “Ask for nothing; receive what you’re given,” he counseled.   “Give Glory to God.” Soli Deo gloria.  Besides, it’s an immense pleasure to give out “likes” and awards.  It’s good to acknowledge other people’s hard work and use of God-given talents.

Our world is in quite the state.  The culture of death is sickeningly pervasive.  Into this darkness echo the voices of bloggers of all Christian denominations, the “children of God.”(John 3:1) The ones “the world does not know” because “it did not know Him.” (John 3:1)  We are convicted to proclaim the Gospel, to proclaim “whatever is true, whatever is honourable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise…” (Phil. 4:8)

Encourage fledgling bloggers.  If you come across a blog that you really like but you notice that it’s not getting much response or the tags/categories don’t seem to be working, drop them a line, link to their blog, help them out.  If you know someone whom you feel should be blogging, encourage them.  You’ll be glad you did and so will they.  Share what you’ve learned.  With our combined talents we can be, like John the  Baptist, the “voice of one crying out in the wilderness.” (Mark 1:3)

So enough of my blog post.  Go spread the Good News this week, rooted in prayer and the love of God.  The world that “lives in darkness” (Matt. 4:16) is crying out for it.  Onward Christian bloggers…………..

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, Christian, Christianity, faith, large family, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Onward Christian Bloggers

  1. Yes- this last month, as I discovered more Catholic sites and blogs, I have allowed my faith to shine brighter in my JOY blog. There is a new sence of purpose and even more JOY than ever
    thank-you for your STEADY support, even though you must be so busy
    love and prayers
    melanie

  2. I too started blogging on another topic, education, but my posts became more and more Catholic like you. I have learned so much from blogs and social media, and I truly believe that God led me to these blogs and facebook discussions when I was struggling in my faith. God Bless!

  3. I am so blessed that you found my blog so that I now can read your wonderful posts. It is people and blogs like yours that help me feel less alone in this increasingly secular world. Keep fighting the good fight and baking the cookies!

  4. dgcree says:

    ” …… with the Cross of Jesus going on before !” Great blog !

  5. lilyboat says:

    I am so glad that you started blogging here!

  6. Pingback: Onward Christian Bloggers

  7. genericmum says:

    “Onward Christian bloggers” -that’s great; (I really did laugh out loud!)

  8. Great advice. Christian bloggers are needed to spread the word of God. Thank you for doing so.

    God bless.

  9. Beautiful post Terry….thanks for the tag. I like to find more blogs like yours that talk about Catholic Jesus a lot and are funny and down-to-earth. But have so little time to find them all. I’ll go check on your other tags. And like you, I had other plans for my blog but my true love took over.

  10. Biltrix says:

    Reblogged this on Biltrix and commented:
    Onward!

  11. alcuinofyork says:

    Thank you for this reflection. I’ve often questioned the good of blogging (and there is certainly the danger that it can take over one’s life or at least one’s imagination), but I also know that good can come from it and that Christian community can be built up with it. I also find it opens my eyes to the experiences of others, inviting me to grow in compassion.

  12. reinkat says:

    I enjoyed this blog twice, the “original” while visiting my mom for 2 weeks, and now again, reblogged at a time when I can really think about it. It is indeed hard to balance things, I would love to read&follow 10 times as many good blogs. It does indeed, as alcuinofyork says, open “my eyes to the experiences of others”. I do not feel so alone in my faith in this sea of secularism. I thank each and every one of you for that, I read many more than I comment upon when time permits.
    A note about starting out blogging about other things then turning to things Catholic. Beautiful. In some ways I have done the opposite, now and again writing about other stuff–and I find that the other “tags” and categories draw in people whose own blogs indicate they wouldn’t have read my posts ordinarily–in other words, perhaps it is a small way of reaching out to the nonCatholic, nonChristian person and doing just that tiny bit of evangelizing. Maybe. Anyway, I was surprised to see this develop and perhaps that IS what is happening when I blog about, well, other stuff.

  13. Pingback: Onward Christian Bloggers | theraineyview

  14. I have been grateful for your support and that of Biltrix too. Love this post.

  15. Mr. V. says:

    Terry,

    great post, I enjoyed reading it. As you wrote, blogs often morph out and away from our initial plans. I started my blog intending to write about the Midwest in general and Kansas in specific, and ended up putting most of my efforts into posting my photography. Then I discovered your blog as well as other Catholic blogs, and the desire has been growing to devote my efforts toward posting about the Catholic Church and faith as well. I am currently devoting more of my photographic efforts to imagery that will have meaning towards the Catholic faith. I am also looking into the idea of podcasting, and that again will have a Catholic theme.

    The things that are most important to us will be reflected in all that we do.

    Have a blessed day!

  16. mummymishy says:

    You’ve always been so supportive to me in these first months of my blog and I don’t even know you! I’m so grateful, and now I wonder if I’ve ever said that to you? So thank you!

    Off topic – I’m an orthodox Jew and it’s amazing how much I relate to most of your posts – it seems, at the heart of it, our core values are incredibly similar. Wishing you only happiness! xoxo

  17. You’re welcome. It’s fun reading your blog. As for core values, we have more in common than not. The Old Testament Book of Deuteronomy states the Great Commandment: “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul and with all your mind, and with all
    your strength. You shall love your neighbour as yourself.” (Deut. 6:5-7). That is the basis for both of our religions. Plus, we’re moms…..that’s a great equalizer right there 🙂

  18. Nancy Shuman says:

    Wonderful wonderful wonderful!

  19. ivan1971 says:

    Wonderully encouraging post. Thank you for this. It was a blessing to read. God bless you!

  20. ivan1971 says:

    *Wonderfully…. 🙂

  21. Mary Kearns says:

    Please remember my country Ireland in your prayers at this time. As you have heard all over the world there are sinister plans to introduce abortion to the safest country in the world for mothers and babies. Thank you.

  22. Great post — you put your finger on the power of this form of communications. Keep fighting the good fight!

  23. Tiffany says:

    Terry, thanks so much for linking up on my little blog! I loved reading your story – it’s funny how things work out sometimes, no? 🙂

Leave a Reply

