Purpose

Very often, my elderly patients will reminisce about the good old days; a simpler time when people were not in such a hurry, when money went further, when family was important.  It’s very comforting and entirely human to look back on on days past with longing and fondness.

Revisiting happy moments is not the same as living in the past.  We are living right here, in this moment in time, in the place where God has put us because He wills us to be here.  We may not always like what is going on around us but we live in trust and hope that each day we are working to bring about God’s Kingdom on Earth.

When you and I look back, what will our “good old days” be like?  What will we remember?  Did we love God with all our heart, mind, soul and strength?  Did we love our neighbour as ourselves?  Did we willingly “complete what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of His body, that is, the Church?” (Col. 1:24)

Prayer by Bl. John Henry Cardinal Newman

I am created to do something or to be something for which no one else is created; I have a place in God’s counsels, in God’s world, which no one else has; whether I be rich or poor, despised or esteemed by man, God knows me and calls me by name.

God has created me to do Him some definite service; He has committed some work to me which He has not committed to another.  I have a mission – I never may know it in this life, but I shall be told it in the next……….I have a part in a great work; I am a link in a chain, a bond of connection between persons.  He has not created me for naught.  I shall do good, I shall do His work; I shall be an angel of peace, a preacher of truth in my own place, while not intending it, if I do but keep His commandments and serve Him in my calling.

Therefore I will trust Him.  Whatever, wherever I am, I can never be thrown away.  If I am in sickness, my sickness may serve Him; in perplexity, my perplexity may serve Him; if I am in sorrow, my sorrow may serve Him.  My sickness, or perplexity, or sorrow may be necessary causes of some great end, which is quite beyond us.  He does nothing in vain; He may prolong my life, He may shorten it; He knows what He is about.  He may take away my friends, He may throw me among strangers, He may make me feel desolate, make my spirits sink, hide the future from me – He still knows what He is about.

I ask not to see – ask not to know – I ask simply to be used.

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, Christian, Christianity, faith, prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Purpose

  1. Love this. Super. Duper. Love. (and apparently my eloquence has left the building).
    Sharing this with my brothers and sisters in community. I’m sure they will love it too!

  2. Mr. V. says:

    Thanks for this post. That is a powerful prayer.

  3. I understand the quote is from Werner Erhard: “In life, understanding is the booby prize.”

    Recently, I’ve discovered I’m freer than I used to be from the compulsion to demand an explanation for the things that are going on in and around me. It makes me wonder why I spent so much time asking “why”.

    We come to joy by knowing God, and we come to know God by doing God’s will. Joy is our assurance we’re heading in the right direction. No amount of ‘understanding’ can give joy — understanding may not even be possible.

    I suspect that my insistence on a ‘reason’ was my stalling tactic. I used to have so much trouble with the guidance of finding God in all circumstances. Not so much trouble now. I’ve discovered that you can find God in confusion or ambiguity or suspends or even flat-out ignorance.

    In the end we realize that understanding God is impossible, but trusting Him is.

  4. That prayer is amazing and powerful. Thank you for sharing it.

  5. Teresa Rice says:

    Awesome! God is in everything and is everywhere. We are God’s instruments called to be used to do His work in various ways.

  6. lilyboat says:

    I ask simply to be used. Amen.

  7. alcuinofyork says:

    That prayer is one of my favourites. 🙂

  8. Wow. Thanks for posting this. Haven’t read this one before. I love it.

Leave a Reply

