Choosing The Better Way

It was one of those days when things didn’t go as planned.  A scheduled visit with a new patient didn’t happen.  It’s my habit to confirm a scheduled appointment 24 hours in advance to remind my patients when I’m coming and give them the opportunity to cancel or reschedule.   Although the time and date had been confirmed, when I got to the house, C denied any knowledge of my visit and didn’t want to be seen.

Anyone who owns a small business knows that time is money and if you don’t work, you don’t get paid.  So now, there was a gap in my day that was too late to fill and I didn’t get paid.   At this point, I knew I had two choices:  get angry or turn this incident into something good.  I chose the latter.  Nearby was a church with a Eucharistic Adoration chapel and I went there for a Holy Hour.  I even prayed for C who made the Holy Hour possible.

I choose joy....

Often in life things happen beyond our control.  They disturb our plans and the delicate balance we all try so hard to maintain.  It can be something as irritating as a cancelled appointment or as devastating as the untimely death of a loved one.  Regardless of the circumstance, we have a choice.  Do we allow it to rob us of our peace or do we offer it to God and ask Him to use it for His good?

In my years of nursing, I have witnessed many people faced with challenges, suffering and death.  In all instances, the people who cope the best are the ones who choose to believe in the providence of a loving God and understand that suffering is redemptive.  While they consent to the proposed treatment, they also accept their illness with serenity, often providing the strength their families need.  They have made a choice for the ultimate good.

Lest anyone think I cheerfully accepted the cancelled appointment and lost income, I didn’t.  I was annoyed and my manner towards C, while professional, was cold.  I had to figure out what to do and in my frustrated mood, the Adoration chapel was not uppermost in my mind; but by the time I arrived at the chapel, I was calm and had mentally filed the incident under the things-beyond-my-control category.

There’s two ways of dealing with challenges and setbacks in life:  the way of Truth or the way of the world.  In the short-term, following the way of the world, such as clinging to self-righteous anger,  may seem instantly satisfying.  In the long-term it leads to dissatisfaction and unhappiness.  Choosing the way of Truth may bring its own set of challenges  but ultimately leads to peace.

Chokeep calm and choose godose the world or choose God.   We are asked to make this decision every day in the ordinary and extraordinary events of our lives.  How will you choose?

Deo Gratias

Linking this up at Catholic Bloggers Network December round-up

This entry was posted in Catholic, Christian, faith, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Choosing The Better Way

  1. Shelly says:

    I chose God! We need to look for God when our plans get changed. It might not be our plan, but it might be His. Most of the divine appointments in our life are not part of our schedule but are part of His!

    • Thanks, Shelly. Isn’t it true that God’s ways are not our ways and that he knows what’s best. If my patient hadn’t cancelled, I wouldn’t have spent time in Adoration with Jesus. Money is fleeting, eternal life is not.

  2. This seems to have been posted just for me!

  3. This is something I’ve really been working on lately–and I need the work! Staying home with 4 kids, my plans are constantly interrupted or thrown out the window. It’s such a challenge. Thanks for the inspiration.

    http://contemplativehomeschool.wordpress.com
    Faith-based education, Carmelite spirituality

  4. Catherine M. Evans says:

    Like you, I would have felt taken advantage of, disappointed and had a concern about the other person that would frustrate me with a slightly helpless feeling. I would have been shocked and stunned, coupled with a slight guilt from a subconscience hoping for some form of hospitality at the door. Cold? Nah. P.S. I do not have “like” available to me to click, so when I like something I use the Comment.

    • Well, C certainly changed my plans that morning, but as an experienced community based nurse, you learn quickly that stuff happens. Knowing that makes it a little bit easier if it happens, but no less frustrating and annoying.

  5. genericmum says:

    Yours is the second blog I’ve read today about ‘making lemonade’, and is also related to the topic I was planning for my own post…I guess all these ‘lemons’ are nothing other than the way in which our redemption is being accomplished before our very eyes; do we take advantage of Christ’s Sacrifice, or don’t we? I’m so glad you made it to Adoration – you deserve it!

    • Thanks, I’m glad I went to Adoration too. I never thought of it that way but you’re so right………when life hands you lemons, make lemonade. Looking forward to your post on the subject.

  6. What a great post! I had such a challenging event yesterday that I turned my grief over to God. It’s great to give things over to God because like you said there are things that are beyond our control.

  7. Thank you. I’m glad you found solace in the Lord.

  8. lilyboat says:

    Eucharistic Adoration chapel was a splendid idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

