Mary, Mother Of God

I tried to write a post about the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God.  Tried and failed, three times!  My writing doesn’t do our Blessed Mother justice, so I will let people more worthy than I express what I can’t.

Mary, Mother of God

In his book, Mary Mirror Of The Church (Liturgical Press), Fr. Raniero Cantalamessa concludes that “we can rejoice with Mary, thank the Trinity for her but most importantly, we can imitate her……If we love, we imitate.  Love has no better fruit than imitation……Mary is an active model, helping us to imitate her.”

From the great St. Augustine: “His mother carried Him in her womb, may we carry Him in our hearts; the Virgin became pregnant with the Incarnation of Christ, may our hearts become pregnant with faith in Christ; she brought forth the Savior, may our souls bring forth salvation and praise.  May our souls be not sterile, but fertile for God.”

St. Ambrose prays: “May each one of us have Mary’s spirit to magnify the Lord with, may her spirit be in each one of us to rejoice in God.”

St. Alphonsus Liguori tells us that “Mary invites all who need a mother to go to her, as they would to the most loving of mothers.  Fr. Nieremberg tells us that the love of all mothers together is but a shadow compared to the love Mary has for each one of us.  O Mary, Mother of my soul, you who love me and desire my salvation more than anyone else after God, show yourself a mother…..My Mother, grant that I may always remember you.”

Mother Mary,thank you for your fiat. Thank you for your constant intercession in my life and in my family’s life.  Thank you for your protection, guidance and example.   Please continue to help us be more like you in faith, hope, obedience, charity, silence and humility.  I love you.

Ave Maria, gratia plena, Dominus tecum. Benedicta tu in mulieribus, et benedictus fructus ventris tui, Jesus.
Sancta Maria, Mater Dei, ora pro nobis peccatoribus, nunc et in hora mortis nostrae. Amen.

Mater Dei, ora pro nobis.

3685738469939679_zpsf0aafbd3

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Blessed Mother, Catholic, faith, Mother of God, Virgin Mary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Mary, Mother Of God

  1. Inked Pen says:

    Beautiful post. I think you would have it in you, have faith- to write with your heart. God Bless You.

  2. SaintlySages says:

    O clemens, O pia, O dulcis Virgo Maria.

  3. lilyboat says:

    I started this year by praying the rosary first thing this morning! For me, There’s no better way to spend time with Our blessed Mother. Thank you for this beautiful collection of the verses of Mother Mary.

  4. Loved this post includingthe different quotes!!

  5. P.S. This song always makes me tear up.

  6. Pilgrim1966 says:

    Thank you for that great collection of quotes.

  7. Teresa Rice says:

    Beautiful. Love this song. Happy New Year!

  8. Number 9 says:

    My mom wants me to follow the bishops advice and make the commitment to pray the Rosary everyday. (And abstain from meat every Friday). I haven’t yet, but today is a great day to make this resolution. Beautiful post!

  9. Terry, what a wonderful post. There is a Marian monday link up at http://www.animakinsi.blogspot.com if you are interested. I always love meeting fellow Marian devotees

  10. Kinsi says:

    Hello- thank you for participating in the link-up! Thankfully, we have the words of many wise people and Saints before us to enjoy when we do not know quite what to say. Isn’t it a wonderful thing? I love the word “fiat”. I feel like I could meditate on that word for some time.

  11. WHEN THEY MENTION THE NAME OF JESUS CHRIST, CHRISTIAN START JUMPING UP ! THE QUESTION IS DO THEY KNOW OR REMEMBER HIS MOTHER ? THE NINE MONTHS PREGNANCY OF THE BABE JESUS WAS IT IN VAIN? IS ONLY A MOTHER THAT CAN ANSWER THIS ! MOREOVER AS GIRL SHE WAS A VIRGIN,DESPITE THAT IS FAMILY WAS POOR,HE NEVER USE POVERTY AS AN EXCUSE TO BE FLIRTING WITH MEN ? WHAT A MORAL LESSON OF THE GIRLS OF TODAY, WHO WANT TO SHOW WHAT THEIR MOTHER GAVE TO THEM.AS A MOTHER SHE TEACHES,ALL WOMEN HOW TO RAISE A CHILD WITH CARE .HOW MUCH I LOVE THE MOTHER OF THE SAVIOR OF THE WORLD.

Leave a Reply

