The Rosaries Of Our Lives

Our family rosaries.

My family’s rosaries.

Sometime before Christmas I made the upsetting discovery that I had lost one of my favourite rosaries.  People lose rosaries all the time, I know, but this particular one was very special to me.  This was the rosary that accompanied me to work each day, sized perfectly so that I could finger the beads while driving.  Its small, oval, burgundy beads were on a strong silver chain.  The attached St. Benedict medallion and detailed crucifix, both made of pewter I think, made it a simple yet beautiful rosary.  It was made by a friend and given to me one Christmas past.  That was the saddest part of the loss – the sentimental value attached to it.

Silly?  Some people may think so, but I don’t.  I have a small collection of rosaries, all of which I use and all of which have a story, a memory, a person behind them.  When I meditate on the rosary, I picture myself praising God through its powerful prayers along with the communion of saints. The rosary I am using at the time connects me in a special way to the person who gave it to me and I remember that person in my prayers.

I propose that the personal rosaries of faithful Christians have a fine history of their own.  They have accompanied their owners through the most joyous as well as the most heartbreaking times in their lives.  Their oft-handled beads show the passage of years as they slip lovingly through praying fingers.  If rosaries could talk they would tell many profound stories of loss and rejoicing, of lives shattered and lives found, all within their 59 beads.

During my work week, I have the blessing of being able, on most days, to pay a quick visit to Jesus in a Eucharistic Adoration Chapel.  Some days the chapel is quite full; other days there may only be a couple of us in silent prayer.  The multicultural mix of my city is well represented in the chapel with whispered prayers being offered up in a multitude of languages.  A common sight is the rosary held gently in the hands of worshipers.  We may all be praying in different languages but there is a bond between us, all joined by the beads, simple or ornate, of our rosaries.  It is a powerful sight.

Please continue reading at Catholic Insight…………..

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, Christian, faith, prayer, rosary, Virgin Mary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Rosaries Of Our Lives

  1. madaughter says:

    Wow! We are totally on the same wavelength today. I wanted to add you to my list of blogs that I follow on the Caregiver blog as well, so I just stopped in.
    I have just finished posting to “Catholic Me”, and it is a poem about The Rosary. Not only that, but I am currently struggling to find MY favourite rosary beads – a sterling silver set that my father gave me when I was in my teens. I can’t seem to find it anywhere!
    I will pray to St. Anthony that you find yours, and you do the same for me, okay?

    Kat

  2. POWERFUL POST.
    I love the fact that Catholics understand how the Spirit saturateS earthly objects, blessing them and allowing man and God connect on earth, touching material objects THAT HAVE BEEN TRANSFORMED TO BECOME hOLY
    – I think I feel an article coming up

  3. reinkat says:

    Beautiful. I sometimes neglect my rosary, neglect prayertime all too often in a busy day. I have been randomly looking at various blogs this morning, and read 2 wonderfully eloquent posts (one of which is this one) on rosaries. Hmmm, maybe there is a message for me there.
    My own rosary was once my father’s, my inheritance from him. Worn smooth with praying. Simple brown beads: i can still picture them in his own hands, slipping through his fingers as he whispered his prayers. Like you, I feel him with me when I use his old rosary for my prayers.

  4. Beautiful and pwerful post! I can definitely relate. I have several rosaries as well, each with their own story and their own “place.” My car, my purse, beside my bed, the living room, etc. I am sorry to hear you lost such a beloved rosary but I am certain that it is bringing the same peace, joy, and comfort to someone else now. Thank you for sharing!

  5. irishcsred says:

    A wonderful post, indeed! I appreciate a great read 🙂 Thanks!

  6. Me says:

    We have a large collection of rosaries as well. If I were ever to lose my amethyst rosary my husband found for me in Kuwait, I would be devastated. The crucifix has Mary by Jesus’s side. Where the Mary medal is, it has Mary holding baby Jesus. I had never seen a rosary like it and for it to be found in a non-Christian nation took my breath away. Plus, the memory attached of my husband being far from home and in the way of danger makes it more special to me.

    I will toss up an intercession to St. Anthony for you as well, just in case. Sometimes he helps us find things at a later time.

    • What a beautiful rosary! Even more so since it came from Kuwait while your husband was on tour of duty. Thanks for the prayers to St. Anthony and take really good care of your amethyst rosary 🙂

  7. lilyboat says:

    My heart moved when I read the story of your mother. It is very touching, and very moving. I have no doubt that God greatly rejoices in her effort, and send much more blessings to her, through her. Whoever found your rosary is a lucky person!

  8. Pingback: The Rosaries Of Our Lives | theraineyview

  9. I love the rosary. It is my favorite devotion. After I pray the rosary each morning I go through my prayer list. On that list is a prayer for everyone who gave me a rosary.

  10. I can so identify! My Rosary is made of Roses, and not only does it smell wonderful, but this Rosary, went to University with me, traveled to Europe with me and was there with me when my mother passed, my source of quiet comfort while greiving. My Rosary has been that constant reminder to me of my ever deepening relationship with my Father in Heaven! I cannot imagine losing it…… I know that my relationship with God is more than my Rosary…I get that…. but holding it, the feel of the beeds in my hand, the scent of the Roses (my mother’s favorite flower) as I say each Our Father, and each Hail Mary, comfortment me. Thank you so much for sharing your story, as your sharing, made me take a moment to realize just how special my Rosery is to me. God Bless!

  11. momn3boys says:

    Beautiful! I don’t know how many rosaries have ended up lost and/or broken at our house. You’ve inspired me to create a central location to store all of the rosaries, so when we need one, we’re not searching all over (in pockets, purses, the car, etc…)

  12. Pingback: Lost and Found | Catholic Me (I am blessed)

  13. Beautiful post! Although I don’t pray the rosary, I strongly believe that praying IS powerful because it implies a deep connection with God. God bless!

  14. Veronica says:

    God bless you and your mother, my father suffers from dementia as well. His rosary is now reduced to 3 aves per decade — sometimes that’s all he remembers.

    It’s a hard journey, may God’s love forever be with you and your family..

Leave a Reply

