Child-like Faith

I teach the First Communion class at my parish in a large room in the basement of the church.  For safety reasons, I ask the parents to come downstairs after class and pick up their child.  I tell the kids that if they don’t see their parent, they have to stay with me and we’ll go upstairs together and wait.  Simple rules.  Easy to follow.

One recent Saturday morning after seeing who was left after dismissal, I rounded up the handful of kids and proceeded up the stairs.  As the last of the parents arrived, I deposited their children into their care, all the while exchanging small talk.   It suddenly occurred to me that I lost track of one of the girls and I was certain that she hadn’t been picked up yet.

My mind started racing trying to re-trace our steps.  She wasn’t back in the classroom.  She didn’t go to the washroom; it was empty.  In the church hall was the Confirmation class so she definitely wasn’t in there.  She wasn’t outside in the cold.  I peeked through the glass doors leading into the church and saw only a couple of adults praying in dimly lit silence.  I went in anyway; there was no where else to look.  As I slowly went up the main aisle, looking to the left and to the right, up ahead I caught sight of what may have been part of a pink, flowered knapsack.  And was that a bit of fur-trimmed hood hanging over the edge of the pew?  I walked up and breathed a sigh of relief.  There she was in the pew, curled up in the fetal position and snuggled under her warm winter coat.

little girl in church pew

Bending down towards her, I quietly asked, “what are you doing?”

“I was just praying,” came the confident and somewhat puzzled answer.

“I’ve been looking everywhere for you,” I sighed.

“You have? But I just wanted to pray.”

We gathered up her things just in time for her mother to arrive.  As I drove home, I remembered that something very similar happened 2,000 years ago when a 12-year old boy frustrated his worried parents.

“Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” was his confident reply when they finally found him.

My beautiful little student came to class that morning to learn about the Faith, but she ended up teaching me a valuable lesson:  the innocence and confidence of a little child who just wanted to pray.  Would that we all had her child-like faith.

Deo Gratias

Linking this to Catholic Bloggers Network: 2013 Monthly link-up blitz for February

This entry was posted in Catholic, children, Christian, faith, parenting, prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Child-like Faith

  1. Number 9 says:

    oh my goodness so sweet! what a beautiful story and reminder. thank you

  2. madaughter says:

    I can’t help remarking that your or her parents’ tutelage must be working to great effect as well. Enjoyed reading this very much.

    Kat

  3. I loved this, Terry. The faith of children can be so heart warming.

  4. Lovely post! What beautiful faith.

  5. dgcree says:

    ….out of the mouths of children 🙂

  6. lilyboat says:

    She was lost in prayers. Beautiful, darling story– though I can imagine the fear you must have felt!

  7. Biltrix says:

    Great story! So many beautiful lessons your children teach us (at home or in CCD). Thanks for helping me to end this peaceful, snowy day with a smile. 🙂

  8. reinkat says:

    I love this story. And the very sweet photo that so aptly accompanied it.

  9. momn3boys says:

    Beautiful!! May she hold on to that childlike faith for her entire life. Great post.

  10. mamanne says:

    Awesome! Except for the part where she gives you a panic attack until you found her, lol!

  11. travels with mary says:

    When I was in undergrad, my best friend’s aunt told me that she was so grateful to be blessed with a childlike faith– it was a moment that has stuck with me over the years. I converted to Catholicism and am now have faith of my own, but I was so struck that she had the wisdom to recognize the blessing in her style of faith.

Leave a Reply

