If Only…………

We’re a peculiar bunch, we humans.  Most of us never seem to be satisfied with our lot in life.  No matter how good or how bad, we instinctively reach out for something more.

As someone who wears many different hats in a 24-hour period, I hate to admit it but I am guilty as charged.  If only my kids would do more chores; if only I could land that contract; if only I could finish that lesson plan; if only………..

Recently, a person of advanced age who has great material wealth but failing health wistfully remarked, “if only I had more money, all my troubles would be over.”  The person was visibly anxious while saying this.  I probably shouldn’t have been surprised at that statement but it made me pause because it didn’t make any sense.  Money isn’t going to solve the myriad health problems or reverse the aging process.  I felt very sad for this person who, in my eyes, was still searching for something more and relying heavily on things of this world to appease an inner restlessness.  That the person was an atheist certainly didn’t help.

It’s a symptom of something larger in society, this restlessness that is so common to most of us.  That’s why self-help gurus and books, creams and potions that promise magical results and the latest super-food fads are so popular.  We think they will satisfy our longing for something more and better.

God holds us in the palm of His hand

It seems to me that the real problem is a lack of trust in Providence, and for some people, it’s the result of not knowing what Providence is.  When I am restless and wanting something other than what I have, it is because I have failed to accept that God is handling things and life is unfolding as He wills.  That’s not to say that I shouldn’t expect my kids to do their chores in a timely fashion or that I should stop working hard.  What it means is that I not become anxious when things don’t seem to be going the way I planned.

Because it’s not all about my plans.

our hearts are restless.......

It would be infinitely more productive to stop searching for external solutions to satisfy our desires.  Whatever we think will solve all our problems and make life better isn’t out there.  The cure for our restlessness lies within our souls.  Resolving to place all our confidence in God who holds us in the palm of His hand is the only true answer.  “Our hearts are restless,” wrote St. Augustine, “until they rest in Thee.”

Deo Gratias

linking this to New Evangelists Monthly

This entry was posted in Catholic, Christian, Christian mom, faith, prayer, wellness, working mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to If Only…………

  1. A restless heart to me always means I need to search God more. Thankfully, I find bits and pieces of God in your blog.

  2. Number 9 says:

    great post. Ive found that losing all materials things ends up being such a blessing because only then do we realize they never satisfied us anyways

  3. Laura says:

    So true. Now, if only… I could learn that “if only’s” are dangerous things. 😉

  4. wow. I certainly don’t want to be dying and say I wish I had more money. i’m gonna look back and say I’m glad I lived. I hope I have done the Lords work how He wanted it to go. the self help things are hilarious. don’t get me wrong, im guilty as well but we ultimately can’t help ourselves in some of the deep seated things we should overcome. great post!!!

  5. Biltrix says:

    Very appropriate for Lent. Meditating on the scriptures proposed for these 40 days and working hard to integrate more prayer, penance, fasting, sacrifice, and almsgiving can help us to realize the truth that you’re relating here. More stuff and better stuff, more money, even more life won’t satisfy our deepest longings and fill our spiritual emptiness.

    Your line, “The cure for our restlessness lies within our souls,” also happens to be very Augustinian. It’s the paradox of “I searched for you on the outside and behold, you were inside of me.” The golden thread of the “Sero te amavi” (Late have I loved you) in the Confessions, is that we have missed God, not because he was not there, but because we were looking for our happiness (the true happiness that consists only in possessing Him) in all the wrong places, by seeking our joy in material things. Yet the paradox is that these things point us to God; and when we do find Him, we eventually find Him in our hearts.

    Thanks for the wonderful post.

  6. reinkat says:

    Beautifully stated. A great reminder for Lent, and everyday.

  7. SR says:

    “It is not all about my plans.” Oh girl, did you just say a mouth full!! To me that summed up the whole post. I agree with Reinkat. “Beautifully stated.” “A great reminder for Lent, and everyday.” You did a great job on this one! God Bless, SR

  8. Mr. V. says:

    Great post. ‘If’ is definitely a dangerous word. I remember a saying from where I grew up: “If ‘if’ was a skiff, we’d all be sailing.”

  9. lesliesholly says:

    I love that final quotation.

  10. Teresa Rice says:

    This post really spoke to me. With my having health problems and having to make a really hard decision this year, very unexpectedly or maybe that was wishful thinking, as hard it may be for me I know that God has a plan for me albeit a different plan than I imagined. I trust in His will and have grown closer to God through my trials. St. Augustine is a spiritual genius. He is so right because when I stray away from God my heart is restless but when I focus on God and my life is centered around Him my heart is at peace. God Bless.

    Excellent post!

  11. Nancy H C Ward says:

    G. K Chesterton quote seems appropriate here:
    “There are two ways to get enough: One is to continue to accumulate more and more. The other is to desire less.”

Leave a Reply

