What Kind of Man Has Eight Kids?

father's day 2013

A man who:

  • works hard to provide for his family
  • considers his family first in every business decision
  • can’t wait to come home after a long day at work
  • expects his children to work hard
  • expects his children to be accountable
  • takes his children camping even when he would rather be in a 5-star hotel with 24-hour sports channel
  •  builds an awesome campfire
  •  is passionate, spontaneous, playful, funny
  • delights in the smell of a newborn
  • was born to change a diaper
  • makes faces at ALL the little babies
  • will cut the neighbours’ grass; drive the elderly person home from the grocery store; help a friend move; walk the nun home through the rough ‘hood; offer a friend a beer and a burger and insist that he put his feet up on the coffee table
  • enjoys being the Saturday morning short-order cook for his brood
  • makes a mean tea-biscuit and an unequaled omelet
  • lives and breathes the duty of the moment
  • tells his wife she’s beautiful
  •  says “I love you”
  • says “I’m sorry”
  • says “I’m proud of you”
  • says “no”
  • doesn’t hide his love for his Church and his God and expects his children to be the same
  • knows he is not worthy
  • remembers what his dad taught him:  put God first, your wife second and everything else will fall into place

Happy Father’s Day, my beloved

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic family, children, family, large family, parenting, prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to What Kind of Man Has Eight Kids?

  1. you married quite the guy if that describes your husband. Nice list. Happy fathers day to him. Peace and blessings

  2. Teresa Rice says:

    Beautiful post! Wishing you and hubby many blessings and happiness.

  3. What a solid example of a man of God in his home, church, workplace, and community. You wrote such a loving tribute to him for Father’s Day. I’m sure it will remain a treasure to him. May God rest His favor and peace on you and yours. God bless you. Beth

  4. 🙂 beautiful I would love your many

    what sort of man has 9 kids? the sort of man who takes his 6 daughter’s one by one shopping for a grade eight grad dress, shoes.. because I am surrounded by babies and toddler Yu just gave me an idea for a re-write for father’s day!!

  5. lilyboat says:

    What a great man… 🙂 You are blessed but then, I know your husband is blessed as well! Enjoy the day!

  6. dgcree says:

    Wishing you both God’s abundant blessings as you celebrate Fathers day!

  7. SaintlySages says:

    Delightful post, Mrs T! Perhaps diaper changing reluctance has something to do with the XX-XY chromosome structure? No, probably not. A good excuse for dads, though. 😉 God bless you both!

  8. Great tribute to your husband, Terry! Reminded me of my dad; he and my mom had 10 kids.

  9. abcinsc says:

    He’s a keeper….

  10. Terry, this made me tear up. It made me think of not only my husband (father of 6), but all of my brothers and brothers-in-law who are good fathers, and my own father (father of 16). It’s all so true. I’ve never understood men who don’t love babies. It’s just not natural. Even “our” priest loves them (if men didn’t love families it wouldn’t be a sacrifice to become a priest, right?) .

    • Thanks for your comment and for the re-blog, Bridget. I think that a strong man is one who protects and nurtures his family. We are both blessed to have such men in our lives. Your parents had 16 kids? Wow! God bless them!

      • Yes we are, and yes, they do. I’m number 16, the baby 🙂 They’ve been married for 55 years, have 16 kids, 52 grandkids, and 5 great-grandkids. And my dad has been an exceptional father to not only us, but to several of his grandchildren as well.

  11. Reblogged this on Life at Le. Rheims and commented:
    From my bloggy friend, Terry, at 8 Kids and a Business. 🙂

Leave a Reply

