Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta

September 5 is the Feast day of Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta. Here is an excerpt from the book, Mother Teresa: In My Own Words.

The lepers, the dying, the hungry, the ones sick with AIDS: they are all Jesus.

One of our novices was aware of this. She had just entered the Congregation, after finishing her studies at the university. The next day she was supposed to accompany another Sister to help at the Home for the Dying in Kalighat.

Before they left, I reminded them, “You know where you have to go. During the Mass notice how tenderly and lovingly the priest touches the Body of Christ. Do not forget, that Christ is the same Christ you touch in the poor.”

The two Sisters left for Kalighat, and three hours later they returned. One of them, the novice, knocked on my door. She told me, full of joy, “Mother, I touched the Body of Christ for the last three hours.” Her face reflected her deep joy.

“What did you do?” I asked her. “Right after we arrived” she answered, “they brought us a man covered with wounds. He had been picked up from the rubble. I had to help take care of his wounds. It took three hours. Therefore, I touched the Body of Christ for three hours. I am sure it was him.”

That young novice had understood that Jesus cannot deceive us when he assures us: “I was sick and you took care of me” (Matthew 25:36)

Deo Gratias

This entry was posted in Catholic, Christian, Christianity, faith, prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta

  1. lamehousewife says:

    Reblogged this on The Lamehousewife Blog.

  2. lilyboat says:

    A great reminder to help us see Jesus in everyone!

Leave a Reply

