Small Success Thursday: The Due Diligence Post

Small-Success-Thursday-250pxEvery Thursday at CatholicMom.com, we celebrate everyone’s  small (and not so small) successes. Come on over, add your link or add your own successes to the comments section.

List three things you are grateful for this week: victories over minutia, victories over the big stuff, blessings which you have received which reveal the breathing presence of God’s grace in your life. Then ask a friend to come and participate too.

This week, I’m focusing on the importance of doing the legwork before making decisions. One of the greatest lessons that life teaches is to do your research. Before making any major decisions, especially those that require you to sign your name on the dotted line, do your due diligence.

Business: A healthcare agency sent me a proposal that piqued my curiousity. Going by the premise that “if something sounds too good to be true then it probably is,” I emailed them with a list of questions. Cautiously reassured by their response, I’m taking the next step and agreeing to meet with them. While I have yet to make a final decision based on my criteria of safeguarding my professional practice and my family time, every small success in business is a good thing.

Writing: I was surprised but thrilled when an international aid agency contacted me with a request to consider reviewing their new book. The agency is well-known and does so many good things for so many people but again, my radar urged me to do my homework before committing. I didn’t want to put my name on anything that goes against Catholic moral teaching. Their answers were prompt and transparent but unfortunately, as a practicing Catholic, I couldn’t support their position on artificial birth control. So I turned them down. Was this a success? Absolutely! In love for all our brothers and sisters, we can’t compromise our Catholic beliefs even when the options seem attractive. God first. Everything else second. (blog post to follow)

Family life: It’s Hallowe’en. It’s going to be pouring rain all day and all evening. Our youngest child and her friends still need supervision when they go out gathering chocolate for me….er, I mean trick-or-treating. Did I say it’s raining? I think this evening’s Hallowe’en extravaganza is a good opportunity for father-daughter-friends bonding. My executive decision – read, the only option – is for my husband to take them all out while I hand out treats at the front door.

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic woman, faith, family, large family, parenting, working mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Small Success Thursday: The Due Diligence Post

  1. SaintlySages says:

    Even rain-soaked chocolate is a treat 😉

  2. Rain doesn’t hurt chocolate, especially if it’s gathered in love for you. 🙂 Go you!!! 🙂

  3. franciscanmom says:

    In my household, Hubs takes the kids out trick-or-treating. I stay home and hand out treats. This division of labor has worked for us for 21 years. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

