Better than the Oscars!

A while back, I asked my spiritual director if accepting blog awards was  you know, full of myself. His reassuring answer? “Ask for nothing, graciously accept what you’re given. That’s humility, too.”

With that in mind, consider this my acceptance speech for three blogging awards that were given to me by some thoughtful blogging friends.

best-moment-awardThank you, 1CatholicSalmon for the Best Moment Award and most especially for your faithful Catholic blog. 1CatholicSalmon – swimming upstream against the tide – is a good resource for Catholic teaching. Go pay a visit and follow along.

Thanks, Biltrix for the Semper Fidelis award and the Sunshine Award. Biltrix – cultural apologetics for the New Evangelization. sunshineawardAre you following James and the other writers at Biltrix? You should. You really should.

semper-fidelis-award

Here are the rules for the three awards:

  1. Use the award logo in the post.
  2. Link to whoever nominated you.
  3. Write 10 pieces of information about yourself.
  4. Nominate fellow bloggers who meet the indicated criteria.
  5. Leave a comment on the nominees’ blogs to tell them of the award.

10 more things about myself:

  1. I’m surprised that 8kids is still around almost two years later and I’m exceedingly grateful to everyone who continues to drop by to read, comment, like. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
  2.  I have a dark chocolate addiction. My family and my spiritual director say that I can never give up chocolate or I’ll be a pain to live with.
  3. I am excited and blessed to join the team of contributors who will be writing daily  Gospel reflections over at CatholicMom. My reflections appear on the third day of each month. Here’s my first one: Daily Gospel Reflection for January 3, 2014
  4. My monthly blog contributions at CatholicMom will continue to appear on the first Friday of each month.
  5. I like shoveling snow which is a good thing because it’s really coming down out there.
  6. There’s a big stack of books beside my bed waiting to be read and there’s another bunch of books on my kindle.
  7. I’m excited to be writing more articles for the Canadian publication, Catholic Insight Magazine. I’ve just submitted an article on caring for the elderly and an article on the physical effects of the scourging and crucifixion. I’m now working on an article about Bill 52, the euthanasia/assisted suicide bill that’s passed second reading in the province of Quebec. After that, I’m writing something on life in large families. The articles will appear throughout the year in the magazine.
  8. I’m taking a different approach to New Year’s Resolutions this year – more on that later.
  9. Work/business demands, family needs and research/writing commitments at Catholic Insight Magazine mean that I will be blogging less at 8kids. I’ll still publish my weekly post that is linked to the Catholic Insight website but will only occasionally blog twice a week.
  10. I love this video. It makes me very happy 🙂

And the Awards go to:

  1. Filling My Prayer Closet
  2. Tales of a Mom
  3. Lilyboat
  4. The Peanut Gallery
  5. Holiness in Motherhood
  6. Roses Near Running Waters
  7. Midwest Mary
  8. The Polka-Dot Barn
  9. Saint Theodora/ Mother Theodore Guerin
  10. Reclaiming the Sacred
  11. Liturgy Guy
  12. Written by the Finger of God

Honourable mentions:

  1. Desperion’s Blog
  2. Enlarging the Heart
  3. Catholic eBooks Project
  4. Saintly Sages

Last but not least, I’d like to invite you to take a look at my friend Fr. Chris Lemieux’s new blog, Come, Follow Me. Fr. Chris has just started a new position as Assistant Vocations Director with the Archdiocese of Toronto and is new to blogging. Please show my friend some love.

This entry was posted in Catholic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Better than the Oscars!

  1. SaintlySages says:

    I always look forward to reading your posts, Terry. Thank you for all your work. God bless you and yours!

  2. Me says:

    Thank you for the nomination(s)! I will plug away at them on the plane this week.

  3. Biltrix says:

    Congratulations on all 3 Awards Terry and for the great your blog. I’m so happy to see how it has blossomed into other writing ventures with great potential for reaching many more people. Thanks for your example of Christian faith and charity in your vocation as a nurse, and foremost as a mom, and thanks for sharing all that with us. (You deserve that dark chocolate!)

  4. Hey, congrats! I’m very happy to have recently discovered your Catholic-author blog!

  5. Michael says:

    Thank you for another insightful l post.

  6. Congratulations Terry! Wow, you really do work hard! I agree – you deserve that chocolate! Thank you for the nomination also, I really appreciate it. It may take me some time to get to it, but I will. God bless you! 🙂

  7. dgcree says:

    Congratulations Terry, where do you get all that energy and time too. It takes me all my time to post my meagre contribution. God grant more power to your elbow ! Thanks for the mention.

  8. holinessinmotherhood says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination! I will be sure to respond on my blog tomorrow. God bless.

  9. Hi Terry! Thank you, oh thank you for the award. When you lump me in the same league as you, its very flattering because I am constantly amazed at how much you write and the stuff you say. Congratulations by the way. You deserve it more than I do but since you put acceptance as a sign of humility, well then I’ll take it. I’ll give my acceptance speech after my blog vacay.

  10. Teresa Rice says:

    Congrats Terry!! Keep up the superb work you do spreading the Gospel!

Leave a Reply

