What – Why – How I Write #MyWritingProcess

Last month, author and blogger,  Connie Rossini at Contemplative Homeschool tagged me in a post about her writing process. Connie is one of the bloggers involved in an ongoing blog tour where bloggers talk about what, why, and how they write.Thanks, Connie!  Connie passed on the baton to me so now it’s my turn to answer the following questions:

What are you working on?

At the moment, I’m happy just to blog for Catholic Insight, CatholicMom.com, and for my blog. I just finished writing an article called “The Witness of Large Catholic Families” for the print edition of Catholic Insight Magazine where I write and have a weekly blog.  I have a few ideas for articles simmering away in my brain but they will have to wait until our short-lived summer is over.

What makes your work different from others’ work in the same genre?

As far as I know, I’m the only Catholic mom with 8 children and a running a small business who blogs and writes for a Canadian Catholic publication. Everything I write is influenced by the circumstances of my life as a Catholic, a wife, and a working mom. In that way, I am different from others in the same genre because the experiences and reflections I write about are my own.

Why do you write what you do?

That’s a good question. Some days I ask myself the same thing. Our Lord speaks to us in every event and circumstance, in every moment of our lives.In our own way, we are called to evangelize and share our encounters with Him. I believe that one of the ways in which I am called to spread the Good News is by blogging and writing here and at Catholic Insight and CatholicMom.com .

Writing about my journey of faith helps me in my spiritual growth. I hope that my reflections and articles somehow help other people as they work out their salvation.

How does your writing process work?

My writing is influenced by many things: family life, professional experiences, books I am reading, the world around me. When an idea for a future blog post or article pops into my head, I scribble it down in my ideas journal. When I am ready to write about it, I pen it in long-hand in my writing journal, usually in one sitting, or at the most, over a two-day period. I write in the evening when the day’s work is finished.

Once I am satisfied with my handwritten draft, I type it into my blog and continue with the editing process. I ask my husband and some of my older children to read it for clarity of thought, grammar, punctuation, and interest. Since most of what I blog appears first at Catholic Insight, I copy and paste the same post into my Catholic Insight blog where the on-line editor gets it ready to print on the website.

Sometimes I write a new article for my monthly column at  CatholicMom.com. At other times, I post a previously written piece.

Writing for Catholic Insight Magazine needs a different process because our articles are longer and require more thought and research. Usually, it takes two months for me to finish an article.  The article on large Catholic families is based on an interview I conducted over the winter with five big Catholic families as well as the experiences of my family. When I write for the magazine, I am even more scrupulous about editing and following print guidelines. It’s more work but I love doing it!

Whether I’m writing a blog post or an article, I first pray for guidance and inspiration. My writing is consecrated to Our Lady and I trust her to use whatever writing talent I have for the glory of God.

I also keep in mind two quotes from the great Flannery O’Connor:

  1.  You do not write the best you can for the sake of art, but for the sake of returning your talent increased to the invisible God to use or not use as He sees fit.
  2. Don’t let me ever think, dear God, that I was anything but the instrument for Your story-just like the typewriter was mine.

One of the many blessings of blogging and writing is meeting  (even if only online) some wonderful people who are also called to use their God-given writing talent. I am very excited to tag two wonderful friends whose blogs I thoroughly enjoy:

Annabelle writes at Written by the Finger of God and she is a contributor blogger at Catholic Stand.

Mary is an author of many books and blogs at Midwest Mary and Saint Theodora/Saint Mother Theodore Guerin.

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic Insight Magazine, Catholic woman, faith, large family, large family blog, working mom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What – Why – How I Write #MyWritingProcess

  1. Well written as always, Terry. You are such a gifted writer and a wonderful instrument of our Lord.

  2. Anabelle @Written By The Finger of God says:

    You are definitely more interesting than me. I have lots more interview questions but maybe that will be a whole nother post! Thanks for the tag. I love those Flannery O’Conner quotes and your writing definitely shows your mission and vision.

  3. Imelda says:

    Nice to see you in the ‘tour’. 🙂 I was tagged for this, too.

  4. liturgy guy says:

    Love this post Terry. Thank you for answering these questions and giving us a peek into your writing process. I agree with Anabelle, those Flannery O’Connor quotes are great and can serve as outstanding advice for all of us.

Leave a Reply

