The Carmelite Martyrs of Compiegne

Carmelite martyrs of compeigneToday marks the 220th anniversary of the martyrdom of sixteen French Carmelite Sisters who were executed because they would not renounce the Catholic Church during the French Revolution. They remain powerful witnesses and models of  heroic virtue and faith as Christians all over the world are increasingly persecuted and killed for steadfast belief in a Triune God.

Last year, I wrote an article about the heroic martyrs of Compeigne. I invite you to read it at Catholic Insight – Remembering the Martyrs of Compiegne.

 

 

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic Church, Catholic Insight Magazine, faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Carmelite Martyrs of Compiegne

  1. SR says:

    Thanks for sharing this. You know 8 Kids, one time someone ask me, “If I would die for the Church and my faith.” My reply was, “I do not know as I have not been faced with this yet, but I pray I would.” I wonder if we would be as brave as these dear souls? Thanks again and God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

