Islam, the Rosary, and the Battle of Lepanto

320px-The_Battle_of_Lepanto_of_1571_full_version_by_Juan_LunaThe Battle of Lepanto was a decisive conflict fought between the outnumbered European fleet and the advancing Islamic Ottoman Turks on October 7, 1571. Pope Pius V armed the entire European fleet with rosaries and named them the Holy League. The European victory became known as the Feast of Our Lady of Victory, later renamed Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary.

Read about the early history of Islamic terrorism and the victory of the Battle of Lepanto on my blog at Catholic Insight.

 

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic Insight Magazine, Christianity, faith, rosary, Virgin Mary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Islam, the Rosary, and the Battle of Lepanto

  1. SR says:

    Hey 8 Kids,

    This was a good post and I did so enjoy the read. How I offer the Rosary daily for all that is going on. I would also like your thoughts on this.

    This morning when I was praying for this very thing the thought occurred to me, “This is what is like to live without Jesus. People will absolutely become vile and evil within themselves, without Him.”

    Now I am not saying my thoughts were correct, but they were my thoughts. I know Islam believes in Jesus as a prophet but. . . ., if we did not believe in Him as our Lord and Savior, would we become like them? Another thought I had and really trying to figure this one out.

    If we do not accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior, do we receive the Holy Spirit? To me it is the Holy Spirit conviction of our conscience that keeps us from murdering and killing other people. I mean my conscience would never let me do this horrible things that are being done, because of Him. I am really puzzled if we do not accept Christ as being Christ, can one receive the Holy Spirit?

    Would love your input. Good post and God Bless, SR

    • If a person doesn’t accept Christ then it follows that they don’t accept the Holy Spirit because the 2 persons in God are inseparable. To be Christian means to accept the Trinity – the 3 persons in one God – without exception. So if a person doesn’t accept Christ (in other words, denies His divinity) then they also don’t accept the Holy Spirit Who is the Love between the Father and the Son.

  2. SR says:

    Hey 8 Kids,
    Thank you so much for your answer to my questions and I agree 100% with all you said. I just needed confirmation that my thoughts were headed in the right direction. In saying all of this I now understand why and how people can do such awful things. Without the Holy Spirit we will. Without the belief and acceptance of the Divinity of Jesus we do not have the Holy Spirit. Thanks again so much for your time. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

