Bishop Athanasius Schneider: Holy Communion on the tongue

Dominus est - it is the Lord In 2008, Bishop Athanasius Schneider penned a short book on his thoughts regarding the reception of Holy Communion in the hand while in a standing position and why this is a form of liturgical abuse. Dominus Est – It is the Lord! Reflections of a Bishop of Central Asia on Holy Communion, was published by the Vatican Press. He wrote the book in response to the widespread problem of “a gradual, growing weakening of the attitude of reverence toward the Sacred Eucharistic Species,” not to mention the abuses of dropping the Eucharistic Host, saving It for later use, or profaning the Blessed Sacrament as in a Satanic Mass.”

I invite you to read my article on this necessary and powerful book at Catholic Insight.

 

Schneider, A. (2008). Dominus Est – It is the Lord! Reflections of a Bishop of Central Asia on Holy  Communion. New Jersey: Newman House Press.

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic Church, Catholic Insight Magazine, prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bishop Athanasius Schneider: Holy Communion on the tongue

  1. SR says:

    Hey 8 Kids,

    Good thought provoking post. I would like to share something that happened to me. I used to receive our Lord on the tongue. One time when I received Him, the Eucharistic Minister placed it on my tongue and looked away as he did it. It fell off of my tongue and bless God I caught it in my hands. When that happened I then changed to receiving our Lord in my hands, as I felt more secure as the Host not falling to the floor.

    Now I must admit, my preference is on the tongue, but I am always so afraid, the Host will be dropped. Do you think I was right or wrong? Would really like your input on it. Thanks and God Bless, SR

    • Hi SR, thanks for your reply. I think that if you want to receive our Lord on the tongue, then you should; just be mindful that He might drop if not placed properly. I don’t understand why the Communion Minister looked away as he was placing the Holy Eucharist on your tongue. It sounds to me like he didn’t want to do it? That speaks to lack of training for distributing Holy Communion on the tongue and a lack of understanding of why we ought to receive on the tongue. If that happened to me, I would speak to my pastor about training the Eucharistic Ministers to place the Blessed Sacrament securely on the tongue.

  2. Pingback: Bishop Athanasius Schneider: Holy Communion on the tongue | Christians Anonymous

  3. cg says:

    Reblogged this on Catholic Glasses and commented:
    I always receive Christ in Holy Communion on my tongue, unless I have an upper respiratory infection. (Thanks, BTW, for the favoring my post on Cardinal Burke.) Let’s keep praying for them; and one another. Have a good evening. 🙂

  4. It is essential to maintain the dignity of the Mass and a sense of reverence in a church. Catholics should examine and reconsider any practices that detract from the reverence that should be present in the church.

Leave a Reply

