Eight suggestions for surviving the Synod hype

wedding ringsAre you overwhelmed by all the media coverage of the Synod? I am. While being informed about the events in Rome is necessary and even a duty of responsible Catholics, it is too easy to get swept along by all the commentaries, opinion pieces, and social media bickering.

On the Catholic Insight website, I wrote about my strategy for maintaining calm and reason while the Synod hype swirls around me. Here it is if you’d like to read it.

 

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic Church, Catholic family, Catholic Insight Magazine, faith, Mother of God, prayer, rosary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Eight suggestions for surviving the Synod hype

  1. Beverly says:

    Thanks for this great post, Terry!

  2. Imelda says:

    Thank you very much for this. I have been quite depressed in the first days of the Synod, my heart is overcome with anger and resentment and a sense of betrayal, and I could barely look at the smiling face of the Pope as it appeared on my FB wall. I had to will myself to pray that God bless them especially, lest I be eaten by negative sentiments. Sorry to say these things here – it seems that everyone I know are quite smitten by the Pope and thrilled by the ‘new found charity’ of the Church.

  3. reinkat says:

    Am I the only one who was unable to use the link to connect? I tried several times today, but no luck.

    • Hi Reinkat, I’m not sure why the link won’t work for you. I tried it and it was fine. Here’s the link again: http://catholicinsight.com/eight-suggestions-for-surviving-the-synod-hype/ Hopefully it will work this time. If not, just go to catholicinsight.com and find the article in blogs or at the top in the header section.

      • reinkat says:

        Thanks. I was able to use the link in your reply. I read the article–and you articulated my sentiments exactly.

        I learned tonight that there is a concerted campaign to attack 8 good Catholic bishops in the U.S., by the LGBT groups who feel that Church teachings are hostile to them. Backed by large corporations, they are beginning a major assault on these holy men. Please do pray for them, and all of our clergy worldwide, that the Holy Spirit will guide and strengthen them.

  4. SR says:

    Hey 8 Kids,

    I had as usual to think about this post for a few days, before responding. I do not know about all this media hype that is going on and if it is all true, I do not know if I even agree with it. However, being that said, we as Catholic’s do believe the Pope is infallible on matters of teaching on morals and faith, and the thing for us to do is to trust God, for these times. Whatever is done, is going to be His will.

    In the meantime, I do so agree with the things you gave to us to do. You know Terry, the older I get I am realizing it is all about what we fill our minds and souls with. That is going to determine our whole demeanor and spiritual walk through all things. Remember I did a post on getting the clutter out of my soul and I firmly believe God cannot dwell in a soul so cluttered with things it does not need. There is no room for Him when we do this, especially when it is cluttered with media hype.

    We need to fill our souls with things of God, and let Him take care of the rest. I think one thing I am going to do is read that book you are reading. Cannot think of one better to read. Good post and God Bless, SR Again, thanks for your help!

  5. That’s a fantastic article. Thanks for sharing with such common sense and clarity. Readers need that. Too many people running around like chicken little. God is still God and He is still driving the boat.

  6. 4thoseilove says:

    Reblogged this on 4ThoseILove and commented:
    I wish I hadn’t gotten caught up in the hype. Yet, our retired bishop told us that folks who believed in Scripture and Tradition and Angels were the “Pharisees.” He likes shocking his conservative sheep because he’s liberal. I will pray for him and all priests and laity. I live in a very liberal diocese.

Leave a Reply

